I am itching to start using…

planner…my Catholic Women’s Planner.  It is just lovely.  This year is the first year I purchased one.  I am very glad I did.

 

My only complaint has to do with ME.  I ordered the large, spiral bound planner with lesson and menu options.  I love it, BUT I wish I’d ordered the 3 hole punched one as there are some forms and lists, etc. that I would like to be able to insert in various places, but cannot.  I am considering taking it apart and adding the holes anyway.  The pages will be a bit smaller, but it might be worth it to have everything (the planner stuff plus my other stuff)  in one place.  I shoulda known!  For next year, I do know.

 

Anyway, while I can add lesson plans for next year already (and probably will start soon) I have to wait for most everything else and I’m really anxious to get started!  But that’s okay.  Next year at this time I will not have run out of planner and it won’t be an issue!

 

I am not so itching to get started on all I have to do today!  I’ve got a lot of things on the list today.  I’ve gotten started with a bit, but there is so much left to do!  Here’s what the list looks like (not necessarily to be done in this order!)

 

  • DINNER (plan/prepare)
  • LAUNDRY (started)
  • LAUNDRY ROOM
  • BATHROOMS
  • BEDS
  • VACUUM
  • CLEAN OUT FROM LIVING ROOM UNDER FURNITURE
  • ORGANIZE MY DESK
  • ORGANIZE PANTRY
  • WIPE DOWN APPLIANCES
  • MOP
  • CLOSET UNDER STAIRS
  • BOY’S ROOM
  • TOY ROOM
  • WINDOWS/WINDOW SILLS
  • DEODORIZE CARPET/RUG
  • CALL FRIDGE REPAIR GUY
  • ORDER  PART FOR D/WASHER
  • CLEAN THE GRILL 
  • CLEAN THE OVEN
  • ORGANIZE KITCHEN CABINETS
  • REMOVE ARTWORK – FRIDGE (make room for more!)
  • WATER PLANTS
  • SCHOOL SHELVES
  • DUST EVERYTHING
  • PLAN FOR NEXT YEAR-GENERAL
  • LESSON PLANS
  • WRITE UP A SCHEDULE
  • WRITE CARKILLER A LETTER
  • CALL SABRINA ABOUT FRIDAY

I’m tired from typing the list for heaven’s sake!  Notice there is no “knit” or “check email” on the list.  waaahhh.  I hope I can get most, of not all, of this done today.  But I won’t get any of it done if I’m sitting here, so I’m off to set the kettle to boil for coffee, grab my iPod and turn on C.S. Lewis’ ‘Mere Christianity’
and get started!

 

I hope you all have a great day! 

 

God bless you!


About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am itching to start using…

  1. snowbabies says:

    I love this planner! This is my fourth year ordering this planner! I love the prayers in the front! I’ve done both.. spiral and hole punch. I ended up ordering the spiral this year. There are tabs in the back for you to add for the months. Love it!.. Whew.. I thought my list was long! Have a good day!

    • Yes, I see the tabs, but I want to add things like daily, weekly, monthly and seasonal chores lists, knitting project forms (i *usually* write down what I am knitting/plan to knit, how much of what kind of yarn I’ll, which needles, estimated time to completion, etc.) I would also like to add my birthday/Christmas ideas lists, more room for science projects and crafts done/wanting to be done (and supplies), etc. That’s why I think the 3 hole punch would work better for me because I can keep everything in one place and insert it where I think it fits best. I also write out lesson plans for more than one child and I’d like the option for more room for that. Not everyone would want all of these things consolidated, I realize, but for me it would be great! Live and learn!!!!

      As a matter of fact, if anyone local to me planned on ordering the same one I have and hasn’t yet….. maybe we could swap! Heck, I’d pay the difference in what anyone planned to order and what the one I ordered so that I can have one that is even more useful one for me. If not, this will still be well used and loved, of course, and I’ll know better what to order next year.

      (okay, my lists are printed… back to the jobs!)

  2. KC says:

    That’s quite a list. Mine is probably as extensive but I know I’m not going to get hardly any of it.

  3. teachinmom says:

    OH!!! I have wanted to order one of those!! You’ve reminded me, guess I’ll be putting an order in!

  4. darcee says:

    I have considered ordering that planner.
    🙂 still considering. I have a hard time justifying spending cash on something when I know I can make planning pages with a click of the mouse and buy the inexpensive calendar sheets from Office Depot. Should I change my mind?

    • I guess it depends on what you want, Darcee. If you just want a planner at the lowest cost possible, definitely make your own! If you want all the “bells and whistles” of a Catholic planner with the liturgical year marked out, etc., WITHOUT the investment of your own time to do it and to have it all done and over with and you don’t mind spending on it, then this is definitely the way to go.

      There are a lot of things that I don’t purchase because I look and I think, “I could do that myself for free!” and then I never do it. This would be one of those things for me. Like you, I can putz around on the word processor and make my own forms (and have) and I have also used forms from Donna Young’s site and I really like a lot of Kristen’s Guides forms, but having this ready for me, liturgical year marked and already printed and bound (or drilled, as would be my preference!) well, I love it. I don’t mind spending money to save time and effort. If I were to do it, I’d do a few months and then tell myself I’ll do a few more next month. The truth is that if it’s not all there for a whole year, I won’t go back and finish after I work up the first few months. I just won’t and I know it!

Leave a Reply

