Reflections -18 May 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections -18 May 2009.

It is wonderfully, beautifully cool outside this morning!!!  It is 53°F and the sun is shining.  Nice start to a Monday!

Plans for this week – Recover from “Junie B Jones” and gear up for “All Shook Up, The Musical”

We also need to get in for eye exams ~ yeah, still.

I am wearing – stretchy pants and t’shirt

I am feeling – great!

I am hearing – The fish tank.  Enough water has evaporated that it is getting noisy.

I am thankful for –  this beautiful weather!

I am wondering – if those two baskets of clean laundry will fold themselves if I stare at them long enough.

I am contemplating -too soon to actually contemplate anything.  I’m working on my first cup of cofee

In prayer – Matthew Karol, CarKiller, SoldierBoy and more

The Family

Chief: The first step of the job application has been complete.  Those crazy kids at CPO already forwarded the qualified candidates names onto the actual hiring team!  Now the team will set up a ‘board’ and discuss the candidates and will figure out who they want to personally interview (I think) and then after that they make a final selection.

SoldierBoy: Won his company Soldier of the Month board and did really well on the battalion of the month board.  He thinks soon he’ll go to a promotion board (FINALLY!)

CarKiller: No call from him this past week (again, no surprise) but he has been sending a lot of letters.  I love that.  Here is a quote from his last letter to me:

I had to do 150 push ups to get my mail!! 

They make them do 30 push ups for every letter they get.  With so many of us writing CarKiller… well, we’ll just say he’ll be very strong at graduation!🙂  In my latest letter to him, I did offer to collect the letters we all write and put them in one large envelope and mail them once a week.  (“large” envelopes and packages cost 40 push ups.)  We’ll see what he says.

GuitarGirl: Auditioned for a part in All Shook Up, The Musical.  She auditioned for the “Barflies/Townspeople/Chorus” and she got a part!  This is her first nonChildren’s Theater production, and only her second audition for a part in nonChildren’s theater.  I am so proud of her and so happy for her.  She’s walked around just shining since she found out she got the part!  She is auditioning for High School Musical 2 this week.

MissKaboom: Loved the performances.  She didn’t get a part in All Shook Up, but we all realized when she auditioned that while the call was for teens and adults, they were looking for older teens.  The audition experience is valuable, too, though.  This week she is auditioning for High School Musical 2

MissCreativity: Won’t have any theater until later in the summer.  The Children’s Theater Workshop this summer is Alice in Wonderland, Jr.  Following that production is the Missoula Children’s Theater production of Jack and the Beanstalk.  This is an audition production rather than a workshop.  Our homeschool group is also going to do a production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream and MissCreativity (and her sisters) is going to join in.  KC is running it and has wisely set the performance date far down the road so as to be very prepared and to keep rehearsals to a minimum (everyone is so busy!  this approach made it possible for my kids to participate.  Thanks, KC.❤ ) 

LittleDood: Absolutely loved seeing Junie B Jones.  

The Homefires:

Kitchen – uhhhhh….

In our my craft room: shhh… going to work on a little “stole” for the baby (my goddaughter… or soon to be, anyway!) for the baptism this weekend.

In our school: Basics… probably for the rest of our “school year”

Lucky Room(s) of the week: nothing other than routine stuff planned

 

My iPod
  • The Rosary
  • C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy

My Reading

Still reading:

Liturgical/Spiritual –

  • Holy Hour on Wednesday from 3 to 4
  • Controlling the tongue.
  • Working on detachment!
  • Offering up disappointments

 

My meditation for the Day

First Letter of John 4:7-10.

Beloved, let us love one another, because love is of God; everyone who loves is begotten by God and knows God. Whoever is without love does not know God, for God is love. In this way the love of God was revealed to us: God sent his only Son into the world so that we might have life through him. In this is love: not that we have loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as expiation for our sins. 

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

DSC_4793

MissKaboom signing an autograph during the "Meet & Greet" after the final performance of Junie B. Jones and a Little Monkey Business

 

MissCreativity signing an autograph at the "Meet & Greet" after the final performance of Junie B. Jones

MissCreativity signing an autograph at the "Meet & Greet" after the final performance of Junie B. Jones and a Little Monkey Business

 

 

God bless you!!!!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections -18 May 2009

  1. Hoagy74 says:

    I would love to see one of your girls’ performances. I looked the times for this weekend’s shows and I was working. I’m hoping I can catch them in action and maybe meet their proud mama!

    • That would be awesome!

      I added “Upcoming Performance Dates” to my left sidebar and will *try* to keep it updated. Notice that there are special FRG performances.

  2. Hoagy74 says:

    Awesome! I’ll definitely have to check my work schedule and mark my calendar!

Leave a Reply

