Reflections -11 May 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections -11 May 2009.

I hope that all of you moms had a wonderful day!

Plans for this week – This is hectic week for the Junie B. Jones theatre production.  Performances start this week.  They are kicked off with daytime performances for kids in the public schools and evening performances for military spouses and then on Friday begins the official performances.

 

We also need to get in for eye exams.  

I am wearing – jeans and a t’shirt

I am feeling – pretty good!  

I am hearing – The dryer

I am thankful for –  joints that don’t ache much

I am wondering why – it has been so dang humid here lately!

I am contemplating -the stuff I’m reading in The Fulfillment of All Desire by Ralph Martin.

In prayer – Matthew Karol, CarKiller, SoldierBoy and more

The Family

Chief:  Just the daily grind kind of stuff.  Hoping he gets the job he applied for.  We won’t know for about a month. Crazy system they have for DoD civilian positions.

SoldierBoy:  called last evening.  We had a nice chat.  He’s doing well.

CarKiller:  was not able to call yesterday.  I am not surprised or even too disappointed as I expected he would not be able to call.  He’s still in the first phase of his training and they don’t typically get phone privileges (except the one “morale call”) for at least a couple of more weeks.  I kept my phone close by, of course, but I didn’t expect him to call.

GuitarGirl:  baked chocolate chip cookies for me for Mother’s day! Today she will audition for a part in “All Shook Up.”

MissKaboom:  is quite excited to begin the performances.  Will also audition for “All Shook Up.”

MissCreativity:  is also excited for performances to begin

(coloring page from the nickjr site

(coloring page from the nickjr site. click to go there)

 

LittleDood:  Has watched too much “Max and Ruby.”  We’re definitely going to control that better as he has begun imitating “Max” in his speech.  Horrible!  Single words used to communicate everything.  “Drink” (used to be, “Can I have a drink, mommy?) or “Outside” (“Can I play outside, mommy?) and so on.  Terribly irritating to have this very verbal kid speaking like this.  Everyone is on alert to not accept this type of speech from him. 

 

 
The Homefires:

Kitchen – Spaghetti and meatballs today

In our my craft room: Ordering Baby Ull from WoolyBaaBaa.    Still working on a cable sweater.

In our school: Basics… probably for the rest of our “school year”

Lucky Room(s) of the week: nothing other than routine stuff planned

 

My iPod
  • The Rosary
  • C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy

My Reading

Still reading:

Liturgical/Spiritual –

  • Holy Hour on Wednesday from 3 to 4
  • Controlling the tongue. 
  • Working on detachment!
  • Offering up disappointments

 

My meditation for the Day

John 14,21-26.

 

Whoever has my commandments and observes them is the one who loves me. And whoever loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and reveal myself to him.” Judas, not the Iscariot, said to him, “Master, (then) what happened that you will reveal yourself to us and not to the world?” Jesus answered and said to him, “Whoever loves me will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our dwelling with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words; yet the word you hear is not mine but that of the Father who sent me. I have told you this while I am with you. The Advocate, the holy Spirit that the Father will send in my name–he will teach you everything and remind you of all that (I) told you. 

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

hmmmmm….  I think I’ll skip it today

 

God bless you!!!!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections -11 May 2009

  1. Hoagy74 says:

    Ian recognized Max right away as he is sitting here watching Dora. I think he watches too much TV! I hope Little Dood returns to a normal speech pattern soon!

    Enjoy your week!

    • *I* love Max. I think he’s a cute little stinker! Ruby makes me nuts. And where the heck are their parents? I noticed a family portrait on the wall in one episode that did include parents, but why don’t we ever see them? Why is Ruby SOLELY responsible for Max’s care? My kids watch LittleDood pretty regularly. That’s family for ya. But really! Where are their parents?!

      But yeah. Clearly it’s been too much!

  2. snowbabies says:

    M&M loves Max and Ruby too.. I’ve wondered why they don’t show parents.. only Grandma?? We usually end up missing the show.. She only gets it when I catch it.

    THank you SOOOO MUCH for your continues prayers for Matthew. We should be heading to San Antonio by the end of the week to see the Cardiologist.

Leave a Reply

