Reflections on the Day for 27 April 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 27 April 2009.

A bit muggy this morning (storms passed nearby last night). It is 69° right now is it is supposed to rain all week. Looks like the possibility of some pretty good storms today. We are currently under a tornado watch. I won’t see the dog all day.

Plans for this week – Get back on track! Our routine has gotten totally lost since Chief came home, but he’s going back to work today. Since CarKiller is off to basic, the impending “he’s leaving” stuff is over, too, so “NORMAL” is the plan of the week

I am wearing – jammies

I am feeling – excited to rediscover normal

I am hearing – rain!

I am thankful for – everything!

I am wondering why – it seems impossible to keep to our normal routine when Chief is home during the day during the week ~ and I know this is NOT an unusual phenomenon. So many women I know tell me they experience the same thing.

I am contemplating -trying to kool aid dye some longies I knitted

In prayer – Matthew Karol, CarKiller as he begins basic (today or tomorrow he goes to his company to start!)

The Family

Chief: is back to work today

SoldierBoy: is doing okay as far as I know. We haven’t spoken for a bit (IM’d a few times last week)

CarKiller: leaves the reception station and starts basic today or tomorrow. I got to speak to him FOUR TIMES since Friday! Yippee!!!

GuitarGirl: was confirmed this past Saturday and also went to prom at the local high school on Saturday night

MissKaboom: seems to be settling in to having big brother gone. She is gearing up for the performances of Junie B. Jones

MissCreativity: has been playing educational video games as often as I’ll let her (some days, I admit, I let her do it too much!) She is also gearing up for Junie B. Jones.

LittleDood: keeps asking about CarKiller, “Is he eating dinner with us?” “Is he upstairs in his room?” He seems to forget that he’s left the nest. Poor little guy. They are best friends and he really misses that brother.

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Ack! I have no idea what’s for dinner. I’ll have to figure something out soon. maybe chicken enchiladas. I will also have to find the time to go to the commissary soon. I have to stock up on a few of the things that I can get cheaper there. (also need to go to clothing and sales on post. someone stole SoldierBoy’s laundry out of the dryer and the px where he’s assigned hasn’t had PT uniforms in stock for over a month, so I’ll go pick some up for him… if they let me!)

In our my craft room: longies are finished. I am considering doing some kool aid dying on them today (IF i can find time for that!) I think I’ll knit a “baptismal stole.”

In our school: Today will be nothing special, extraordinary or even fun. We just need to catch up on some basics and get back into our routine.

Lucky Room(s) of the week: For me, it’s not so much rooms as it is getting caught up on neglected tasks… like dusting, cleaning out the fridge, mopping…. For the kids, it’s BEDROOMS!

 

My iPod
  • The Rosary
  • Mother Nadine
  • C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy

My Reading

Not really doing much reading….:

Liturgical/Spiritual –

  • confession this week! Should have gone Saturday, but it was a crazy, wonderful day, so I’m late
  • Holy Hour on Wednesday from 3 to 4. There is a lovely woman who is often there during the hour we have signed up for. (actually, I noticed she signs in at 2pm, and stays beyond when we leave at 4! Good on her!) Since Chief has been home, I’ve gone alone or with one of the older children. Now that we’re back on track, I will be bringing all 4 of the kids. I hope she doesn’t have heart failure with us being, well, a family with a bunch of kids, one of whom is only 3! She’s welcome to stay with us, of course, but I CAN’T fight the 3 year old and I can’t not bring him to the Lord. I pray that it goes well.
  • Wednesday is the feast of St Catherine of Siena, patron of MissKaboom, so we’ll be celebrating that.
  • 9-1-1: I am determined to add this nifty little devotion to my daily prayer. Fr. Corapi recommends it. It entails the “Express Novena” of Mother Teresa, which is: 9 consecutive Memorare’s, plus –1 Chaplet of Divine Mercy and –1 Rosary.
  • Controlling the tongue. That is what I’m working on. I won’t say “this week” because, as James says (James 1:26, and all of chapter 3!), it is such an unruly member, I suspect that even with copious amounts of grace, it will take a bit longer than that.

 

My meditation for the Day

James 3

Taming the Tongue

1Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly. 2We all stumble in many ways. If anyone is never at fault in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check.

3When we put bits into the mouths of horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal. 4Or take ships as an example. Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder wherever the pilot wants to go. 5Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body, but it makes great boasts. Consider what a great forest is set on fire by a small spark. 6The tongue also is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

7All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, 8but no man can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.

9With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness. 10Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be. 11Can both fresh water and salt[a] water flow from the same spring? 12My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

 

dsc_4742

God bless you!!!!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on the Day for 27 April 2009

  1. snowbabies says:

    We won’t see our dog all day either.. He’s absolutely pitiful.

    we have our holy Hour today, but if it is pouring, we will have to make it up. There has been a few times when someone else joins us, so when we come to the last 20 minutes of our Hour, we invite them to pray the rosary with us…. crayons and all in the back.

  2. mum6kids says:

    It’s great to get off routine sometimes-especially when ‘daddy’ is around.
    I think a Holy Hour is wonderful. It’s something I really want to work out how to fit into a day. But I guess that wont be just yet.
    I loved Divine Mercy In My Soul.
    I am reading (on and off) the Revelations of St Bridget of Sweden.
    God bless

  3. KC says:

    Ack! I always forget my children’s saint feast days. Middle dd’s is St. Catherine of Siena also. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

