We’re Home, He’s on a Plane

 

We are finally home.  We had initially planned to trek around San Antonio for  a while, but last evening LittleDood came down with a fever.  There has been a virus making its way through our family (thankfully CarKiller got it last week and is almost 100% now) and it caught up with the little guy last night.  I got it yesterday.  As we were getting ready to leave, I thought I was having horrible allergy problems, but by the time we were on 35S, I knew it was not allergies!  Yesterday was miserable!  But we have survived.  I don’t feel well, but am definitely improving.  LittleDood is still running a fever whenever the motrin or tylenol wear off.  I think we’ll let it run for a little while and see if it breaks for good.

 

I am slugging down sipping a wonderful cup of coffee, sitting in 93° heat on the back porch, watching the little one play.  He needs to play, sick or not!  He was so good while we were down there.  That is NOT a place to make a 3 year old happy!  And still, even not feeling well, he did wonderfully.

 

Chief did have the privilege of swearing his son in.  I got a few pictures.  I couldn’t decide which to upload, so I uploaded all of the swearing in pictures.  I have a video I still need to download and I may add that here later.  

 

CarKiller enlisted as an E-3 instead of an E-1 because he passed the “soldier skills” tests, a PT test, and he referred someone to the military.  That’s great for him as it will get him to E-4 that much faster and the pay for an E-3 is much better than the pay for E-1.  I have to say, everyone at the MEPS in San Antonio was actually very pleasant!  When we went to SoldierBoy’s swearing in in Dallas, it was NOT such a pleasant experience.  

 

I might have more to say about all of this later, but for now, I’m going to get back to that coffee!

Enjoy the pictures:

 

GuitarGirl, MissKaboom, MissCreativity and LittleDood on the anchor outside of the MEPS

GuitarGirl, MissKaboom, MissCreativity and LittleDood on the anchor outside of the MEPS

 

 

Chief and CarKiller during the Swearing In ceremony

Chief and CarKiller during the Swearing In ceremony

 

 

 

 

 

dsc_47221

 

 

dsc_47241

 

dsc_47251

 

dsc_4726

dsc_4727

dsc_4728

 

Old Soldier, New Soldier!

Old Soldier, New Soldier!

 

dsc_4730

dsc_4732

dsc_4735

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Family, Military Life, My Kids!, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’re Home, He’s on a Plane

  1. snowbabies says:

    all grown up!! You’ve raised him right! I keep him tucked into my prayers.

  2. Hoagy74 says:

    Awesome! Well not the sickness, but the congratulations that are in order to the new soldier! I know how you had to have been so incredibly proud and humbled and and and…..

    I hope you all feel much better soon!

  3. jess says:

    Congratulations to your new soldier!

Leave a Reply

