Reflections on the Day for 14 April 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 14 April 2009.

Chilly this morning… 45°

Plans for this week – Tuesday (Today) going to the Dallas Zoo and to the King Tut exhibit in Dallas

I am wearing – jammies and a cardigan

I am feeling – chilly! and excited about our trip, sad that it means I have to miss “Ditch and Stitch”

I am hearing – quiet!

I am thankful for – The Risen Lord!

I am wondering why – it is so darn hard to find modest swimwear!!!

I am contemplating -what I should bring as a second knitting project on the Dallas trip (I’m almost done with the longies and there’s lots of knitting time in the truck today!) Also contemplating getting an iPhone.

In prayer – my friend, Em

The Family

Chief: is probably going to work next week after CarKiller ships

SoldierBoy: is relieved to be in an “easy” unit in his language class

CarKiller: ships in 1 week! Yikes!

GuitarGirl: is learning to scuba dive and will get her certification in a few weeks

MissKaboom: has been living up to her nickname lately. I think she may be distressed about her brother leaving.

MissCreativity: has been into origami lately. she likes following the patterns and making up her own as well.

LittleDood: likes to play “egg hunt” with the plastic eggs from his Easter basket

The Homefires:

Kitchen – today will be eating on the road. for the rest of the week I plan to cook: sauerbraten with knoedel, spaetzle, blaukraut, corn and semmel, and my most excellent homemade pizza (yes, i do say so myself! i eat too, you know!) and turkey dinner and spaghetti, meatloaf and one more night out

In our my craft room: longies are almost finished. I think hat and booties next. maybe a baptismal stole

In our school: This is going to be a “light” week. Field trip today and on Wednesday another “field trip” for the girls to somewhere with CarKiller, just to have some time, just the siblings.

Lucky Room(s) of the week: No lucky rooms this week. Maybe next week after CarKiller leaves I’ll feel up to tackling something major… I’m thinking about finishing the painting of the trim.

 

My iPod
  • C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy

My Reading

Not really doing much reading…. but here are a few titles in the pile:

Liturgical/Spiritual – 

THIS SUNDAY is Divine Mercy Sunday!! Read more about the Feast of Mercy HERE.

Find a 45 page PDF on Understanding Divine Mercy Sunday HERE. (it took a while to open and I worried that it locked up my browser, but patience and prayer won the battle!)

Find instructions for gaining the plenary indulgence HERE. And clarification regarding confession and the timing of it related to the indulgence HERE.

 

DO NOT MISS THIS GIFT OF MERCY OF THE LORD JESUS!!
TAKE ADVANTAGE OF HIS MERCY!
He gave His very life to give us His great mercy!

 


My meditation for the Day

Psalms 145 – 150, Hymn of Praise; of David

I so much love using the Psalms for prayer, especially the praises!

Here is a start (Psalms 145, the beginning of 146)

Psalm 145

I will extol you, my God and King,
and bless your name forever and ever.
Every day I will bless you,
and praise your name forever and ever.
Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised;
his greatness is unsearchable.
One generation shall laud your works to another,
and shall declare your mighty acts.
On the glorious splendor of your majesty,
and on your wondrous works, I will meditate.
The might of your awesome deeds shall be proclaimed,
and I will declare your greatness.
They shall celebrate the fame of your abundant goodness,
and shall sing aloud of your righteousness.
The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger
and abounding in steadfast love.
The Lord is good to all,
and his compassion is over all that he has made.
All your works shall give thanks to you, O Lord,
and all your faithful shall bless you.
They shall speak of the glory of your kingdom,
and tell of your power,
to make known to all people your mighty deeds,
and the glorious splendor of your kingdom.
Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom,
and your dominion endures throughout all generations.
The Lord is faithful in all his words,
and gracious in all his deeds.
The Lord upholds all who are falling,
and raises up all who are bowed down.
The eyes of all look to you,
and you give them their food in due season.
You open your hand, satisfying the desire of every living thing.
The Lord is just in all his ways,
and kind in all his doings.
The Lord is near to all who call on him,
to all who call on him in truth.
He fulfills the desire of all who fear him;
he also hears their cry, and saves them.
The Lord watches over all who love him,
but all the wicked he will destroy.
My mouth will speak the praise of the Lord,
and all flesh will bless his holy name forever and ever.

Psalm 146

Praise the Lord! Praise the Lord, O my soul!
I will praise the Lord as long as I live;
I will sing praises to my God all my life long….

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

divinemercy

Still works this week!

 

God bless you!!!!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on the Day for 14 April 2009

  1. Hoagy74 says:

    I’m jealous of your trip to Dallas and hope that you all enjoy it greatly! I saw the Tut exhibit at the Cairo Museum and it was really awesome!

    • Oh, as wonderful as the exhibit was, I’m sure the one in Cairo is so much better! I mean… the mummy is there and everything! It was fun. I filled just under 8gb worth of SD cards! (none in the exhibit, of course.)

  2. snowbabies says:

    thank you Sue, you are always in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

