Reflections on the Day for 7 April 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 7 April 2009.

Yikes! it got down to 33°… AGAIN

Plans for this week – It is Holy Week, so our plans are based on that

I am wearing – jeans, sweater, and cardigan

I am feeling – that “almost baptized feeling”!!!

I am hearing – central heat running

I am thankful for – The mercy of God and the Sacrament of Penance

I am wondering why – I seem to put off going to confession, even with every firm purpose of amendment to go weekly, even knowing the joy that comes with such a great sacrament!

I am contemplating -what the North Koreans are up to

In prayer – my new friend, Kira, a special intention of my friend KC, thanksgiving to God for a GREAT ultrasound for Em, my children, godchildren, our friends and family

The Children:

SoldierBoy: seems the other insurance company is FINALLY ready to accept responsibility (good thing, too, as the initial estimate for the body work is $9,000 and they haven’t even considered the problems with the transmission that may [or may not] be related!)

CarKiller: ships in 2 weeks! Yikes!

GuitarGirl: is a home ed maniac! she working very hard to keep on track with her plans to graduate early

MissKaboom: had a great birthday weekend

MissCreativity: has been creating little bits of art and “paper dolls” for Holy Week

LittleDood: is loving playing with the paper dolls!

The Homefires:

Kitchen – not sure what to have for dinner… it’s so cold now, I think a stew would be great, but what if it is 80 degrees later? It could happen! [Updated: it DID happen… it got up to 80° and sadly, we ended up having fast food. blech.]

In our my craft room: I started and restarted some footie socks for MissKaboom, but the pattern I initially chose was odd and I did not like how it turned out (the author’s photo of her final project looked great, but I was not getting the same results!) I am also about to begin a pair of longies. It’s been such a long time since I knitted longies. I hope my pattern is still on the hard drive (if not, thank God for “Time Machine” backups!) [Updated: Argh! I don’t have it. It was not on my Time Machine backup, either. The old drive I used for backups was acting weird a while ago, so I got a new one (that’s what you do when your IT guy is 7500 miles away) and left the old alone for Chief to look at when he got back… when I plugged it in to find the document, the drive was EMPTY. The file not on the new backup drive, either. I’m recreating my pattern. I know the gist of how it’s done, so I’m not worried, but sheesh! ANY MAC USERS OUT THERE WHO CAN RECOMMEND AN ALTERNATIVE TO TIME MACHINE????]

In our school: We will do basic academics (the four “R’s” but will mostly spend the week focused on Holy Week. Today is the chrism Mass, which we will not attend, but we’ll talk about it and find something to do today.

Lucky Room(s) of the week:

Still haven’t gotten that last estimate (I think we’re dragging our feet because it is almost time to pay taxes and we owe a lot again this year. *sigh* Also have not looked at flooring options, probably for the same reason.)

There is some attic space that needs to be gone through, but I don’t think I’ll even give that any serious thought during Holy Week.

My iPod
  • Confessions of St Augustine (but I’ve had to take a break from it)
  • Something by Mother Nadine Brown
  • C.S. Lewis’ Space Trilogy

My Reading

Not really doing much reading…. but here are a few titles in the pile:

Liturgical/Spiritual –

THIS FRIDAY, the Divine Mercy Novena begins, leading up to Divine Mercy Sunday on 19 April 2009. Find the novena prayers HERE. Read more about the Feast of Mercy HERE.

Find a 45 page PDF on Understanding Divine Mercy Sunday HERE. (it took a while to open and I worried that it locked up my browser, but patience and prayer won the battle!)

Find instructions for gaining the plenary indulgence HERE. And clarification regarding confession and the timing of it related to the indulgence HERE.

DO NOT MISS THIS GIFT OF MERCY OF THE LORD JESUS!!
TAKE ADVANTAGE OF HIS MERCY!
He gave His very life to give us His great mercy!


My meditation for the Day

My daughter, tell the whole world about My inconceivable mercy.
I desire that the Feast of Mercy be a refuge and shelter for all souls,
and especially for poor sinners.
On that day the very depths of My tender mercy are open.
I pour out a whole ocean of graces upon
those souls who approach the fount of My mercy.
The soul that will go to Confession and receive Holy Communion shall obtain
complete forgiveness of sins and punishment.
On that day all the divine floodgates through which graces flow are opened.
Let no soul fear to draw near to Me, even though its sins be as scarlet.
My mercy is so great that no mind, be it of man or of angel,
will be able to fathom it throughout eternity.
Everything that exists has come forth from the very depths of My most tender mercy.
Every soul in its relation to Me will contemplate My love and mercy throughout eternity.
The Feast of Mercy emerged from My very depths of tenderness.
It is My desire that it be solemnly celebrated on the first Sunday after Easter.
Mankind will not have peace until it turns to the Fount of My Mercy.

(Diary of Sister M. Faustina Kowalska: Divine Mercy in My Soul
, # 699)

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

divinemercy

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

