Reflections on the Day for 28 March 2009


reflections
Thanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 28 March 2009.

Yikes!  it got down to 33°

Plans for this week – Spring break is over.  Chief will be heading into the office to settle his travel voucher and will probably meet with someone this week about a new job.

I am wearing – stretchy pants, tshirt

I am feeling – foggy-headed… I took benadryl last night.

I am hearing – central heat running, birds chirping outside

I am thankful for – central heat!

I am wondering why – the weather keeps going crazy!  I am also wondering what to knit next and what to get MissKaboom for her 13th birthday (which is this coming Friday.)

I am contemplating – the “signs of [these] times” … what’s going on, what’s going to happen economically, to our great nation…

In prayer – my new friend, Kira, who is on a beautiful journey

The Children:

SoldierBoy: put a claim in on his own insurance policy for the accident, but will still pursue the other company

CarKiller: is running again, getting ready for basic

GuitarGirl: was at a Sea Scout camp out last night and is at a confirmation retreat today and tomororw

MissKaboom: Got a part in Juni B Jones, but is going to audition again… they are double casting

MissCreativity: also got a part in Juni B Jones, but is going to audition again… they are double casting

(second audition is Monday)

LittleDood: is still thrilled that daddy is home

The Homefires:

Kitchen – no idea what’s for dinner, but I’m thinking eggs and bacon for breakfast

In our my craft room: I need an interesting knitting project!  I am considering knitting a quick pair of socks for MissKaboom for a birthday gift, but other than that…. no idea!

In our school: This week we’re getting started up again and I will be assessing plans and goals again.

Lucky Room(s) of the week:

Still need one more estimate for the fence.

Intend to go out and look for new floor options (tile, carpet)

 


My iPod
  • Confessions of St Augustine (but I’ve had to take a break from it)
  • Something by Mother Nadine Brown

My Reading

  • Sermons for Lent is not going very well again this year…. *sigh*
  • Genevieve Kineke’s book Authentic Catholic Woman
  • about to add: The Fulfillment of all Desire by Ralph Martin

On a related note… I lost my glasses!!!!!  I am using some “off the rack” magnifying reading glasses right now, but that won’t cut it.  Please pray I either find them or that our vision insurance kicks back in quickly and I can go get an exam get started on it again.  I am *hoping* that I can wear contacts.  So, so tired of dirty glasses!

Praise God!!!!  CarKiller found my glasses!!!!!!!!

My meditation for the Day

 

Let the greatest sinners place their trust in My mercy. They have the right before others to trust in the abyss of My mercy. My daughter, write about My mercy towards tormented souls. Souls that make an appeal to My mercy delight Me. To such souls I grant even more graces than they ask. I cannot punish even the greatest sinner if he makes an appeal to My compassion, but on the contrary, I justify him in My unfathomable and inscrutable mercy.

 —Diary, Divine Mercy in My Soul, n. 1146

 

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

 

I’m still on m first cup of coffee, so I’m going to skip it!

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reflections on the Day for 28 March 2009

  1. mum6kids says:

    My Lent hasn’t gone well this year either. I wish i was better at this being holy lark.
    I too am wondering what will happen-not just with the economy-I feel a tension in the air somehow.
    I’m trying to pray-but feel so distracted and like I am walking through treacle with it.
    Anyway-God is still in His heaven.
    God bless you-enjoy your family time with your beloved home.
    btw If Spring break is done-what happens at Easter?

    • Shell, I think *everyone* is feeling that tension. And yes, way more than economy. Heck, if I publicly stated some of the things on my mind regarding the tension, I’d become the village idiot and no one would come back to visit my blog!

      I think we just keep using the grace the good Lord gives us to pick ourselves up again and start to pray even if we know we’ll be slacking in a day… and INDEED! God is still God!🙂

      For spring break/Easter, we will be on “school light” during holy week and then take Easter Monday and maybe Tuesday off and then back on it. You know… the beauty of homeschooling… we’ll keep going until we accomplish what we have in mind for this year no matter what month it is.

  2. teachinmom says:

    Hey
    Thinking about you. Hope all is well!

    peace,
    Kara

  3. kidjuggler says:

    You are missed!

Leave a Reply

