Reflections on the Day for 22 March 2009


reflections
Thanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 22 March 2009.

The weather has been nearly perfect!  Warm, but not too hot, a nice breeze blowing most of the time.  I’ve been using the laundry line exclusively this week.  Lovely.

Plans for this week – Adjusting!  Also, today is Chuck E Cheese for birthdays!

I am wearing – stretchy pants, tshirt

I am feeling – a bit tired, lots of allergy stuff

I am hearing – fish tank

I am thankful for – spring!

I am wondering why – we always have flies in our house.  Yes. all. year. long. urgh.

I am contemplating – the Luminous mysteries. It’s taken me a long time to “get on board” with the Luminous mysteries, but recently, I’ve been contemplating them more and praying them regularly.  

In prayer – Today I am in prayer in a special way for 3 important people!  My goddaughter A, my godson J and the Holy Father .

The Children:

SoldierBoy:  Still no settlement on the insurance.  It’s starting to get annoying.

CarKiller:  Getting anxious (good anxious) to get on to basic training next month

GuitarGirl:  working on a performance piece for a Quinceañera 

MissKaboom:  is anxious about auditions for Juni B Jones

MissCreativity:  also plans to audition for Juni B Jones 

(they’ll probably audition on Tuesday…. since we didn’t pick up a script yet… ooops)

LittleDood:  Has been daddy’s little shadow.  He’s hardly remembered he has a mother or siblings!  It is so wonderful to see!!!!

The Homefires:

Kitchen – no idea what’s for dinner.

In our my craft room: I have put aside the gown I started.  It is no longer needed by the intended recipient.  I will finish it eventually, but since there is no timeline or suspense date, I’m moving on to something else.  Not sure what, but SOMETHING else.  I’m so ready for something else.

In our school: This is “spring break” for us.  the local PS took last week, we’re taking this week

Lucky Room(s) of the week

There are no lucky rooms.  I might see if  Chief and CarKiller will put a garden in for me.  I would like a raised bed garden for vegetables.  I’ll have to figure out the best place for it. I asked someone about a where they got soil, but didn’t get a response, so I think I’ll just eenie, meenie, minie, moe in the phone book.  It’s just dirt…. right?  

Also need to get one more estimate for a new fence.  The estimates are coming in right about the same, so I think we know what we will need to spend.  Now to spend it.  eeeeek.


My iPod
  • Confessions of St Augustine (but I’ve had to take a break from it)
  • Be Generous Toward God by Sr. Ann Shields will be loaded soon

My Reading

  • Sermons for Lent 
  • Genevieve Kineke’s book Authentic Catholic Woman 
  • Frozen Fire (MissKaboom’s friend recommended it to her, so I’m checking it out)
  • about to add: The Fulfillment of all Desire by Ralph Martin

 

My scripture meditation for the Day

Ephesians 2,4-10. 

But God, who is rich in mercy, because of the great love he had for us, even when we were dead in our transgressions, brought us to life with Christ (by grace you have been saved), raised us up with him, and seated us with him in the heavens in Christ Jesus, that in the ages to come he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not from you; it is the gift of God; it is not from works, so no one may boast. For we are his handiwork, created in Christ Jesus for the good works that God has prepared in advance, that we should live in them. 

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

 

dscn0325

 

dscn0328

 

CarKiller painted our master bedroom walls last week.  We’ve never painted our room.  Ever.  In all these years.  When we were on active duty, we lived in quarters a lot of the time, so we didn’t want to do too much in those because it all would have to be undone at what is usually a stressful time (moving time).  Then, I guess, we jut got used to it and have only slowly been doing things “normal” homeowners do, like paint.  There is only one room left with white walls now and that is the laundry room.  I think, just for fun, i’m going to find a very funky, probably ugly,  color to put up in there just because I can.  :D  

 

CarKiller always paints a “hi mom” for me when he does this kind of work for us.  

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on the Day for 22 March 2009

  1. Hoagy74 says:

    I hope you are adjusting to the old/new family dynamic and that you find your routine soon! And once you do, I insist that we find time for that meet up!

  2. KC says:

    I can tell you where not to get soil–where I got mine. That soil is horrible. I might as well have dug it up from my own yard.

Leave a Reply

