Treasures

 

 

I was looking at some blogs/sites with images of old holy cards on them.  It inspired me to pull out my grandfather’s 1934 prayer book (it’s so cool!) and look at the holy cards he placed in there, as well as pulling out my mom’s 1962 missal, also with holy cards inside.  I’ve got some scans I made from my grandpa’s treasures that I wanted to share here.

 

Before I go on, I want to just admit upfront that my knowledge of my grandfather’s large family is limited!  I am unsure about who’s who, but I treasure these all the same.

 

 

Cover of Grandpa's prayer book

Cover of Grandpa's prayer book

 

 

They don't make them like they used to!

They don't make them like they used to!

 

 

 

Index

Index

 

I believe Alphonse was grandpa's brother

I believe Alphonse was grandpa's nephew, but may have been a much younger brother. He came from a large family (13 kids, I think.)

 

Funeral Card for Clarice

Funeral Card for Clarice, possibly a sister of my grandfather...

 

Priestly Ordination of Fr. Joseph, I think a nephew of my grandfather

Priestly Ordination of Fr. Joseph, I think a nephew of my grandfather

 

I think Fr. Raphael may have been a nephew of my grandfather as well

I think Fr. Raphael may have been a nephew of my grandfather as well

 

Funeral card of my great-grandfather

Funeral card of my great-grandfather

 

I believe that Cletus was a friend of my grandfather

I believe that Cletus was a friend of my grandfather

 

Another day, I will scan a few pages from the prayer book itself and I will also scan my mom’s missal cover and all of the holy cards she had left in there for me.  She has really given me some lovely things.  Grandpa’s praybook and holy cards, her own from her own missal, my grams’ rosary, statue, rocker… really great treasures.  Thanks, mom!

 

And. of course, I must not forget to pray for all of those who are represented here.

May their souls, and the souls of all the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace.  Amen.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Treasures

  1. Pam says:

    Thank you for sharing this pics! I love vintage prayer cards and prayer books. I will share some in Spanish😉
    Have a nice week end!

Leave a Reply

