Reflections 18 February 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 18 February 2009.

It’s 58°F.  It’s kind of rainy, in a constant drizzle sort of way.  This kind of day makes me feel blah.  It feels gloomy, but there’s not a decent thunderstorm in sight.  It’s expected to get to about 78° today.  Not that it will do a lot of good since everything is soggy and muddy outside.  Here go the floors again with the dog tracking mess in.  

Plans for this week – Tomorrow evening is a “birthday club” get together with other homeschooling moms.  I am looking forward to getting out of the house and enjoying their company!

I am wearing – jeans, long sleeve T, and birkenstocks

I am feeling – an allergy headache coming on.  Blech.  The pollen count is high and climbing.

I am hearing – water dripping off of the house ~ a slow monotonous drip.

I am thankful for – A home to live in, a truck to drive, food in the fridge and cabinets, homeschooling, the lovely gift of a St Thomas More book and the DVD  A Man For All Seasons that Chief had sent to me,  a good night of sleep for LittleDood, hot coffee, 

I am wondering why – Every pillow in my living room is on the floor!  There are about 15 of them.  All on the floor.  The kids would say it is “ghosts”… I say the ghosts names are GuitarGirl, MissKaboom, MissCreativity and LittleDood!  Sometimes you gotta wonder what they’re thinking!

I am contemplating – Going to the meat market and ordering a side of beef, a whole hog and some chickens.  The quality of the meat is excellent, I hear, and the prices can’t be beat when purchasing it this way.  The only thing I wonder about is how much meat I can actually store in the freezer.  I’m half tempted to look into purchasing a small chest freezer to go alongside the upright.  I think the overall savings would be worth it (especially if I stay really small on the freezer) and having that meat bought and paid for with the tough times that I think are coming would be a real comfort.

In prayer – Chief and all of our kids, all of my friends and family, Walter Hoyle, pastor and founder of Issues4LIfe Foundation (read a bit about him HERE  and HERE. ), for our nation and the coming impact of the Stimulus Pork bill.  J&A and their kids as they prepare for J to deploy to Afghanistan, that CarKiller’s RENO gets worked out and finished SOON

The Children:

SoldierBoy: Injured his back when another car hit his parked truck.  Thankfully, the doctor he saw gave him very good and thorough care.  He should have results from xrays and other stuff in about a week.  We think he’s fine, but I’m grateful that the doc was so thorough.  His friend, who was also in the truck and whose back is also very painful did not have quite the same level of care.

CarKiller: Going to be finishing the garage today (yes!  really!  he better!)  We are going to put some things in a rental storage unit, at least temporarily. (Seasonal things, baby items, some “not sure why we’re keeping this” stuff.) Once Chief gets back home, we can consider something more permanent on our property.  My concern is that we are at at the bottom of a hill and while the engineers did a great job grading the slope and such (even in the worst of rain, we don’t have water rushing up to the front door) we do get some standing water out back.  A unit on our property would have to be set up high enough to avoid that.  (i.e. we’d have to have a little foundation poured or something) The place that I’m considering storing our things is well placed for rain to drain away from the units.

GuitarGirl: Got some new books and software for math, Spanish Rosetta Stone coming soon

MissKaboom: Has settled back down over the past few days (YAY!)

MissCreativity: Still thinks school activities take up too much knitting time!

LittleDood: Had a good night of uninterrupted sleep (so far)

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Meatloaf or steak.  Not sure

In our my craft room: Just knitting, check out the My Knitting Basket page. Still working on the “under gown”

Got the yarn organized… for now.  I have opened up the Master Hand Knitting course instructions again, hoping to finish soon!

In our school: We had a normal school day on Monday (President’s Day).  I took a cue from my friend over at Anyone See Where I Lost My Marbles? and told the kids, “Pick a number from 1 – 44” and then told them to write a paragraph or two on the president that number corresponded to!  They did a fabulous job and applied what they are learning from IEW… “which clause” and all!  I loved it!

Lucky Room(s) of the week: The garage, of course!

My iPod – Nothing

My Reading – chose Sermons for Lent by St. Francis de Sales for lenten reading.  As I was sorting through things, I found many, many books I want to read in a huge pile of books I have.  I also have The King’s Good Servant, but God’s First to read from Chief.  It’s a huge book.

My scripture meditation for the Day

Psalms 116(115),12-13.14-15.18-19.  

How can I repay the LORD for all the good done for me? 
I will raise the cup of salvation and call on the name of the LORD. 
I will pay my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people. 
Too costly in the eyes of the LORD is the death of his faithful. 
I will pay my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people, 
In the courts of the house of the LORD, in your midst, O Jerusalem. Hallelujah!
 


   

Here is a picture thought I am sharing:

 

dsc_3977

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

