Reading for Lent

 

I think that this Lent, I will work through the book, The Sermons of St. Francis de Sales for Lent, Given in 1662.  Edited by Fr. Lewis Fiorelli, Translated by the Nuns of the Visitation.

 

 

desales-book

TABLE OF CONTENTS

•Fasting
•Temptation
•Faith
•Eternal Happiness
•Election and Reprobation
•Mutual Charity
•Proper Conduct in Illness
•God’s Spiritual Providence
•Proper Fear of Death
•Hearing the Word of God
•Humility and Obedience
•The Passion of Our Lord and What It Means

 

 

You can read a bit from the chapter on Temptation HERE.

 

I absolutely love Introduction to the Devout Life by St. Francis.  I know I like his writing.  I know I respond to his teachings and spirituality.  For some reason, though, reading this book of sermons for lent has been a challenge! I read a sentence or two, or a paragraph or two and I am just not there.  I close the book and forget about it for another year.  I really hope this year is different.  

 

How about you?  Do you have any reading planned for lent?

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reading for Lent

  1. darcee says:

    Hey, that looks like a wonderful Lenten read. You and your family are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

