Reflections 13 February 2009

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 13 February 2009.

It’s a lovely 58°F!!

Plans for this weekend – just shopping (blech!) food, clothing and kitchen chairs

I am wearing – comfy pants, t’shirt and wool socks

I am feeling – strange!  With the boy sleeping upstairs in his new room, I can do a lot more in the mornings than I used to!

I am hearing – the fish tank. it’s so loud. it still needs a new filter.

I am thankful for – A smooth transition yesterday.  There were few complaints or tragedies with the room move.  We now have a girl room, LittleDood’s room, SoldierBoy’s and CarKiller’s room/guest room and a “spare” room. (it won’t be “spare” for long!)

In prayer – Chief and all of our kids.  My friend who is still healing from her miscarriage, friends who are currently pregnant, friends who are hoping to be.

The Children:

SoldierBoy: Off skiing this weekend.

CarKiller: Off to Austin for the night… just for fun, I guess

GuitarGirl: Surprised me the most by her lack of complaints when I put the girls in the “big room.”

MissKaboom: she’s been a bit testy lately

MissCreativity: I think she likes the room switch most of all.  Having both sisters there is a good thing!

LittleDood: seems to have taken right to the move from our room to his own.  Yay!

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Fajitas, I think

In our my craft room: Just knitting, check out the My Knitting Basket page. Still working on the “under gown”

Still time to get the yarn and needles reorganized

In our school: Nothing spectacular or fun (Sorry, Kids!)

Lucky Room(s) of the week: Finish my bedroom and closet!

My iPod – Nothing

My Reading – Nothing again, but I’m lining up some lenten reading

My scripture meditation for the Day

 

Matthew 13: 3-9       

And he spoke to them at length in parables, saying:
“A sower went out to sow.
And as he sowed, some seed fell on the path, and birds came and ate it up.
Some fell on rocky ground, where it had little soil.
It sprang up at once because the soil was not deep,
and when the sun rose it was scorched, and it withered for lack of roots.
Some seed fell among thorns,
and the thorns grew up and choked it. 
But some seed fell on rich soil,
and produced fruit, a hundred or sixty or thirtyfold.
Whoever has ears ought to hear.”

 

Here are some picture thought I am sharing:

 

From “Ditch and Stitch”

Yum!  Coffee!

Yum! Coffee!

Delicious Cheesecake from Pfeiffer's German bakery.  Mmmm!

Delicious Cheesecake from Pfeiffer's German bakery. Mmmm!

Scrumptious Apple Pie from Pfeiffer's German Bakery

Scrumptious Apple Pie from Pfeiffer's German Bakery

 

(We also had some YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY pumpkin bread. 
Baked by Em, shared by KC… it was gone before I could get a picture!)

 

The kids and I had a wonderful treat this week:

 

Fanta! The REAL DEAL.  Not that nasty, too-sweet, artificially colored stuff they sell over here in the states.  No this is the real stuff.  Also purchased at Pfeiffer's

Fanta! The REAL DEAL. Not that nasty, too-sweet, artificially colored stuff they sell over here in the states. No this is the real stuff. Also purchased at Pfeiffer's

Have a lovely weekend, everyone!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reflections 13 February 2009

  1. Hoagy says:

    MUST… GO…. TO…. Pfieffer’s… You really shouldn’t post such great looking baked goods. Now I really want some and I can actually get there in no time flat. (I had to google where it was, but it’s soooo close that it shouldn’t be a problem.) I really hate you right now! 😛

  2. I don’t blame you for being jealous!😛 Whenever we FINALLY get together, I’ll get a cheesecake.

  3. AmmieJo says:

    I really hate you. There’s no Pfieffer’s or any other German bakery for at least 100 miles or more. Certainly no place that make cheesecakes that look like that! Yummy!

    My Aunt took me to a German bakery in PA, when I was there with her. She bought a butter cake. OH my goodness, it really did melt in your mouth! I would love one of those!

  4. mum6kids says:

    I don’t normally do this kind of thing-but please would you and anyone else you can get come and leave messages supporting homeschoolers on my blog. We are hoping the more support we get the more we can show the Govt.
    Thank you and God bless

  5. Hoagy… so glad to hear you got some Pfeiffer’s!!!

    Told ya it’s yum!

Leave a Reply

