Meeting an Old Friend for the Very First Time

 

 

 

I had the good fortune of meeting a very dear friend for the first time on Saturday.  We’ve been friends since early 2005.  We became friends through an online forum.  Through the past 4 years of posts, emails, instant messages, and phone calls we have become the dearest of friends.  The internet is a wondrous thing!  Without it, I would have never known the blessing of friendship with KidJuggler.  

 

Two mommies with only one chin each... no, really!

Two mommies with only one chin each... no, really!

 

 

The circumstance that brought them from Tennessee to Texas was a sad one.  KidJuggler’s grandmother passed away.  Nana wanted to be buried in Texas, next to her husband, so off the entire family went.  KidJuggler’s husband, D., had long promised her that, one day, he would get her to Texas to meet “the Knitter” (that’s me) in person.  

 

The Fabulous Mr. D., Keeper of His Word, Lover of Beans ;), Lovely Husband, Great Dad

The Fabulous Mr. D., Keeper of His Word, Lover of Beans😉, Lovely Husband, Great Dad

 

 

 

And so, though it meant a very long drive out of their way (Texas is big, y’all!) to get here and many miles to get back on track, they came.   Of course, the visit could never be long enough, but we enjoyed each other’s company very much… and it felt so very normal and natural to have her here.  I did not feel even one brief moment of uncomfortableness.  KidJuggler and her family simply belonged here.  

 

      

      

LittleDood and Bug... new best friends!
LittleDood and Bug… new best friends!

 

The kids got along beautifully. 

KidJuggler has two beautiful daughters, Bug (3) and Belly (1).  Thankfully, the weather was pretty decent (mid-60’s) and they played and played outside…. something her kids needed more than anyone!  They’d been cooped up in the van, then in hotel rooms, funeral homes and restaurants for a few days.  They really needed some room to run and toys to play with and they made the best of the short time they had to do just that!

 

 

 

beans

 

We shared a good ol’ “Texas BBQ” meal of smoked brisket, potato salad, chernobyl beans…. yum. D has been wanting to try my chernobyl beans for a few years now.  I don’t think he was disappointed!  I did not give him the recipe, as I want them to come back (such is the power of the beans) but I am afraid much of the secret was exposed simply because they were here while I prepared them.   

 

 

 

With all of my talk of 10gb of memory for my cameras, that I fully intended to fill, I sure didn’t take nearly as many pictures as I meant to.  I was having much too much fun just enjoying KidJuggler‘s company…. but that doesn’t mean I didn’t get any, as you can see.  

belly-and-misskaboom

Belly and MissKaboom

 

boy-and-bug

Bug and The Boy

 

 

Bug and The Boy With Sand

Bug and The Boy With Sand

 

 

 

Playing in the Sand Table

Playing in the Sand Table

 

 

 

Gimme a Hug!

Gimme a Hug!

 

 

 

More Hugs!

More Hugs!

 

 

 

"To Infinity and Beyond!"

"To Infinity and Beyond!"

 

 

 

KidJuggler and D's Ear!

KidJuggler and D's Ear!

 

 

 

MissKaboom and Bug

MissKaboom and Bug

 

 

 

KidJuggler and Belly

KidJuggler and Belly

 

 

 

Sweet Belly

Sweet Belly

 

 

 

Sweet Bug

Sweet Bug

 

 

I also shot a lot of video.  I don’t have the patience to upload it all to my google video just yet, so I’ll get to that later.

 

Thank You, Lord, for this brief, but wonderful, meeting!  Thank You for the blessing of friendship.

 

O, Mary, conceived without sin,
pray for us who have recourse to thee!

St. Thomas More, Pray for us!

 

(just as a little side note, I have added a picture of one of my WiP’s on the “My Knitting Basket” page [link found in the sidebar or at the tab on the top of the page.]  I like how it’s turning out!)

 

The Lord bless you and keep you, may He make His face shine upon you and give you peace forever!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meeting an Old Friend for the Very First Time

  1. Annette says:

    I loved reading about your visit! I was trying to talk hubby into a Spring Break Austin area trip, but alas he says all funds must go to the Florida summer trip. I want to visit with your sweet family again!

Leave a Reply

