Reflections: 14 January 2008

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 14 January 2009.

I am sure you’ve guessed already that it is COLD here!  27° this morning.  Yuck.  Seriously.  This is Texas!

Plans for this week – Schooling, getting pants for a Sea Scout uniform hemmed and patches sewn on, a “private” knitting class on Friday and preparing for the visit of a dear friend on Saturday (we’ve never met in person before.  I am excited to finally be able to give her more than a cyber hug!)

I am wearing – jeans and a t’shirt

I am feeling – A headache trying to come on.  When it gets cold like this, the heat runs and runs and that gives me a headache.

I am hearing – The ticking of a clock and the central heat running.  I love these quiet mornings!

I am thankful for – good coffee, good friends, a wonderful family, dirty dishes, dirty laundry and that my biggest problem today is having to find someone to replace the fence and [maybe] get the carpet replaced. (well, we need the carpet replaced… just not sure when we’ll actually do it.)

In prayer – My husband and kids, a dear friend who recently announced her pregnancy, another pregnant friend, those who would like to be pregnant, those whose pregnancy was unexpected, all those who struggle with the cross of infertility, our nation as the inauguration approaches, a friend and her family as they travel to bury her grandmother and for the repose of the soul of Nana, CarKiller as he is STILL waiting for the next step in his enlistment process, for “Merry” and her double major! (GO, MERRY!) and for myself that I may become what I am and have the courage to do so.

The Children:

  • SoldierBoy– is going skiing over his long weekend, starting tomorrow
  • CarKiller– STILL waiting on something from USAREC
  • GuitarGirl– is getting ready for Sea Scout Academy.  She’ll be far, far away over this coming weekend. I’m going to miss her and worry about her and hope she has a really wonderful time!
  • MissKaboom– is Berlios, one of the kittens, in the production of Aristocats
  • MissCreativity– is an Alley Cat in the production of Aristocats
  • LittleDood– is out of pullups during the day.  He did have an accident (though he does already tinkle in the potty.  he refused to poop yesterday, though.  *sigh*)

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Working on expanding and sticking to a menu

Lucky Room of the Week: Kids’ rooms, CarKiller is going to work on the garage.

The rest of the house – routine stuff

Projects:

House: – CarKiller to clean out/organize the garage AGAIN

Knitting – finish a couple of WiP’s, cast on a couple of new ones… when the others are finished

Bedrooms: -We’ll be switching around the upstairs bedrooms this week, I hope. (yes, i said that last week)

Other: – Assessing lesson plans and school goals and adjusting where needed

 

In our my craft room: KNITTING, KNITTING, KNITTING!!!

My iPod – The Two Towers.

My Reading  I have so many things I want to read that I’m not reading anything!  The book pile gets higher and higher.  And I don’t mean all new books.  Many of the books in this pile are books that I’ve had for a while, but either haven’t read yet or need to read again (but there are a couple of new ones, too.)

My scripture/meditation/inspiration for the Day

 

Psalms 105

Give thanks to the LORD, invoke his name; make known among the peoples his deeds! 
Sing praise, play music; proclaim all his wondrous deeds! 
Glory in his holy name; rejoice, O hearts that seek the LORD! 
Rely on the mighty LORD; constantly seek his face.  

 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you – 

 

 

dsc_3691

We had such a fun time on Little Dood’s birthday!

 

Thank you, Lord, for our little blessing!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reflections: 14 January 2008

  1. darcee says:

    Carkiller makes me laugh everytime I read it. I was my parent’s carkiller kid.

  2. mum6kids says:

    Lol! lovely post. Happy birthday (belated) to the small one.

  3. tagn says:

    First of all, I’ve never seen your face, BEA.U.TI.FUL!!!

    I’m glad you and Kid Juggler finally got to meet! That is awesome!

    I love reading what you have to say and just know that sometimes(okay, a lot of times) I look to you for salvation in my world of insanity.

  4. hey Amanda!

    Not sure what exactly helps make insanity any better around here, but I’m really glad to know you stop by!

    Your “Beauty in the Common Things” posts always make me smile. I’d say you’re doing pretty well with 2 ornery boys!

    Sanity is overrated.

Leave a Reply

