What the Heck? -*UPDATED*


UPDATE!


I have been back to the site and I can now type Mass, Jesus, Christmas, Bible.  That is all I tested thus far, but it appears they heard us and have corrected it.


Good for you, Viacom.  Good for you.  I’m off to unblock the Nick channels now!

picture-5The above is a thumbnail of a screenshot of words I typed into their free draw screen.  

***********************************

 

 

I was alerted to this via email.  I tried it to confirm it.  It’s crazy!  

 

Okay.  Try this:  On Nick, Jr.’s  “free draw” page, select the tool for typing a message (a large “A”)

Type in 

“Christmas”

“Jesus”

“Pope”

“Mass”

“President Bush”

 

Now, type in

“Kwanzaa”

“Church”

“President Obama”

 

Now, I can see them blocking some things, especially if these are the pictures they show on the television between shows.  I can even see them being chicken about anything religious or political, but I do not get why “Church” is okay, but “Mass” isn’t.  I don’t get how I can type, “President Obama” (and he’s not even president yet!) and not “President Bush”  I don’t get how I can type Hanukkah or Kwanzaa, but not Christmas.  When I typed “pro-life” i was not really surprised that it was blocked.  It’s a kids site for a kids channel.

But really?  Either all references to religious and political issues need to be blocked or none of them.  And, do they not realize that Christmas has a secular use, too?  Not everyone who tells me “Merry Christmas” is a Christian… yet they celebrate Christmas and wish others a merry one.  

 

Now, humor me one more time.  Type in:
Nick Jr. just lost a viewer.
You can contact Viacom about this:

http://www.viacom.com/contact/Pages/default.aspx 

 

UPDATE:  POINTED OUT BY FRIENDS:

a friend told me these are allowed:

terrorist, Sadaam Hussein, torah, Koran, Allah and abortion

KidJuggler posted a comment here saying:

Also, koran is allowed. Bible is not. Islam is allowed, Christianity is not.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What the Heck? -*UPDATED*

  1. kidjuggler says:

    Contacted and they have lost a viewer.
    So frustrating and sad.

  2. Pingback: December 17, 2008 « Diaper, Feed, Love and Repeat

  3. kidjuggler says:

    Also, koran is allowed. Bible is not. Islam is allowed, Christianity is not.

  4. AmmieJo says:

    Wow! That is unacceptable!

  5. darcee says:

    Looks like they removed the filter entirely now. I could type in anything.

    • Yes, I found that now, too. I am less concerned about that than the other because most 4 year olds who are using the nick, jr site probably are not typing those words. It’s not a perfect solution, but I prefer my kids to be able to write “Jesus” or “Merry Christmas” than a worry about a word that they don’t know or don’t think of anyway… And, honestly, I suspect that Viacom may have said, “Okay, you don’t want filters? Fine.” They could have still blocked profanity, really. I think I still prefer this way, though, if I have to choose one or the other.

Leave a Reply

