Reflections

 

 

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 16 December 2008.

BRRRRR. IT’S COLD AGAIN!

So, I interrupt my feverish knitting for this little update:

Plans for this week – Advent crafts and activities, baking, decorating, WRAPPING and knitting…. lots of knitting!!

I am wearing – jeans and a black tee (hehe, same jeans, but a different black shirt as last week)

I am feeling – overwhelmed. There is a lot going on around here just now with recruiters and Advent and Christmas preparations and baking and the knitting I’m behind on….

I am hearing – The central heat running

I am thankful for – My faith, my family, my friends, especially our friend, Allen, who is really taking care of us

In prayer – The babies, the nation, my husband, my children and friends. CarKiller’s enlistment process, a friend who has a “women’s health” appointment today,  our friend, Allen.  All of my godchildren!!!

The Children:

  • SoldierBoy- comes home again next week (again for just a few days, but I’ll happily take it!)
  • CarKiller- is taking the necessary steps, making necessary plans, and weighing options for going into the military
  • GuitarGirl- busy, busy, busy just now. Babysitting twice this week, a Sea Scout Christmas party this weekend, etc.
  • MissKaboom- is recovering from her performance of A Christmas Story.  It really wore her out.
  • MissCreativity- is nonstop crafting these days.
  • LittleDood- has been very interested in using the toilet lately.  YAY.

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Baking, baking and more baking!
My Room – Get it back in order from all the Christmas gift chaos!
The rest of the house – just routine, daily stuff

Projects:

House: – General tidying
Knitting – too much to list!
Christmas – wrap gifts

In our my craft room: KNITTING, KNITTING, KNITTING!!!

My iPod – Fellowship of the Ring…  but I’m listening to Fr. Corapi DVD’ on my computer (yeah, listening, not watching.)

My Reading –  Deep Conversion, Deep Prayer 

My pleasant thought for the Day

 

I will bless the LORD at all times; praise shall be always in my mouth. 
My soul will glory in the LORD that the poor may hear and be glad. 
Look to God that you may be radiant with joy and your faces may not blush for shame 

From Psalm 34

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

 

 

weeks-weather

This screenshot was taken just a couple of minutes ago.  This really seems  crazy for my part of Texas at this point.  Yesterday stayed right around freezing (or below) all day.  Today our high is supposed to top out at freezing…. and then tomorrow…52? Then 3 days of 77?  Oy!  I guess this means I’ll have both a high electric bill and a high gas bill!  Just the other day we had to breakdown and turn the a/c back on.  It was hot and stuffy in the house…. and then we woke up to subfreezing temps the next morning.  Weird.  Almost as weird as snow in the desert!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

