Reflections on the Day 1 December 2008

reflectionsThanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections on the Day for 1 December 2008.

I think fall has arrived in Central Texas.  It’s still cold. Stop laughing, you northerners!

 

Plans for todayHousework, school, get a tree, Advent crafts/activities


I am wearing – Jeans and a black shirt

I am feeling – a headache coming on.  “Cedar Season” has begun.

I am hearing – The central heat running

I am thankful for – My faith, my family, my friends, and SoldierBoy’s visit.

In prayer – The babies, the nation, my husband, my children and friends.  My friend, Em, her grandmother, and her whole family.  My sister and her family.  My brother and his wife as their baby’s birth draws near!

The Children: Are getting excited as we enter Advent.  CarKiller is feeling a lot of different things as his enlistment gets closer:  excited, anxious, worried about all of us who will remain behind.

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Plan dinner, start some Christmas Baking.
Living room – move things around so the tree will fit
Lucky Room of the Day – Kids’ bedrooms… with CarKiller leaving, we will have more room upstairs and want to utilize it well, so the kids need to get them ready for a move

Projects:

House – Christmas lights, outdoor nativity, get living room ready for tree, start the “Advent Cleaning.”
Knitting – lots of hats and socks
Christmas – I think I only have shopping for the oldest boys left.
Advent – Jesse Tree symbol, work on felt nativity and Advent calendar.  Tomorrow, make a Christmas Crib to fill with “cotton ball sacrifices” (found this idea on catholicmom.com, but don’t have a link just now.)
Other –  Have to go to the post office

My iPod – LOTR:  Fellowship of the Ring

My Reading – Find and review for my sister, “The House with the Clock in Its Walls.”  She remembers the book from childhood, but is unsure of whether or not she feels it is appropriate for her kids to read.  

My pleasant thought for the Day

Matthew 8,5-11.

When he entered Capernaum, a centurion approached him and appealed to him, saying, “Lord, my servant is lying at home paralyzed, suffering dreadfully.” He said to him, “I will come and cure him.” The centurion said in reply, “Lord, I am not worthy to have you enter under my roof; only say the word and my servant will be healed. For I too am a person subject to authority, with soldiers subject to me. And I say to one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and to another, ‘Come here,’ and he comes; and to my slave, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.” When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him, “Amen, I say to you, in no one in Israel have I found such faith. I say to you, many will come from the east and the west, and will recline with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob at the banquet in the kingdom of heaven, 

Here is a picture thought I am sharing with you

dsc_2884

 

 

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in My Kids!, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

