Happy Thanksgiving

SoldierBoy is home!  He has not been home for Thanksgiving since 2004, before he enlisted in the US Army!  It is so good to have him here!  Having all the kids together is really wonderful.  Of course, that is in real contrast to my feelings about Chief being in Iraq.  I really wish he were here, home with us, celebrating all we are thankful for.  I miss you, sweetie!

 

I have so much to be thankful for.  I am thankful for our family and friends, our priest and our parish, the food in our fridge and the gas in our vehicles.  I am thankful for warm beds, warm clothes, central heat and air conditioning.  I am thankful for healthy, happy kids and for time spent with family.  I am happy to be in a place where my biggest problem is finding time to wrap Christmas gifts, or figure out what’s for dinner or deciding what yarn or needles I might want to buy to create some knitted masterpiece (no, really, all my stuff is a masterpiece! 😀 )

 

I am very thankful today for our friend Allen who works in a MEPS station in the upper midwest who was able to help CarKiller get everything in line so that, after a year and a half of trying, he can finally fulfill his life-long dream of becoming a soldier!  Yesterday, I received word from Allen that he was able to get all of the silly mistakes and issues that held CarKiller back from enlisting straightened out.  I am thankful to God who heard our many, many prayers about this!  Soon I will be the mother of 2 young soldiers!

 

I am thankful for our freedom and our faith and salvation from the Father who sent His Son to redeem us.  I am thankful for the Church and the Sacraments and the freedom to worship God openly and fearlessly.  

 I am tremendously blessed!  

Thank you, dear Lord for your many blessings!

Psalms 100,2.3.4.5.

worship the LORD with cries of gladness; come before him with joyful song. 
Know that the LORD is God, our maker to whom we belong, whosepeople we are, God’s well-tended flock. 
Enter the temple gates with praise, its courts with thanksgiving. Give thanks to God, bless his name; 
good indeed is the LORD, Whose love endures forever, whose faithfulness lasts through every age. 

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. tmoe99us says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Knitter! I am thankful to have been able to “meet” such a wonderful wife, mother, and friend!

  2. snowbabies says:

    Happy Thanksgiving my friend!! A big hug to your son for the go ahead in to the army!

Leave a Reply

