Before and After

 

WARNING:  PIE ahead! (Photo Intense Entry.)  I know it’s overkill for the average reader, but I’m not posting this many pics for the average reader.  I’m posting this many for my Chief.  I know he’d like to see it in a bit more detail than the rest of the world!

 

We’ve lived in our house for 9.5 years.  We’ve done very little to “update”it.  We did instal laminate flooring… because we had a flood that destroyed the carpet.  The kitchen had a blue/off white striped wallpaper.  It was alright.  I never hated it (unlike the stuff in MY bathroom…. ewww!) but I was also never crazy about it.  

 

When we started taking care of a couple of things in the house last week (starting with new baseboards) we ended up playing “If you give a mom some updates” [in the style of “if you give a mouse a cookie”] and ended up starting more than we thought we would.  There is more in the works.  If Mom and Dad had not called to say they were coming, we probably would have kept going! (and we will continue after they leave.)  

 

Anyway, here is the “old” kitchen.  It’s not really easy to see how it looked, but these pictures should give an idea to anyone who’s not seen it. My IRL friends could tell you what a big change it is, though! (they’ve not seen the change in person.  most will see it for the first time here!)

 

 

dsc_0067This picture is one I took to show Chief how cold it got one morning recently.  (For Texas, that’s pretty cold in November!)  It is a good shot of the wallpaper.

 

dsc_1594dsc_2502dsc_2503dsc_8947dsc_8948

This should be fairly representative.  It is a decent kitchen.  It didn’t look terrible, but it wasn’t something you’d love to look at or spend loads of time in.  But it was alright.

 

Now I’ll show you the new, but not quite finished, kitchen!  (I still want to do something with the countertops and the cabinets.  I also need window treatments.)

Here is the after!

dsc_2607Wall by the back door, between the kitchen and living room

 

dsc_2608Wall between the backdoor and the big window

 

dsc_2609Toward the back door and the big window

 

dsc_2610Standing near my desk, looking toward the laundry room

 

dsc_2611Standing near the island, looking toward living room

 

dsc_2612Standing near the oven, looking toward the living room

 

dsc_2613Standing by the big window, looking toward my desk. laundry room and powder room

 

dsc_2614Standing near the table, looking toward the sink/fridge #1

 

dsc_2615Standing between my desk and the table, looking toward the stove/oven

 

dsc_2616Standing near the cooktop, looking toward the small window/sink

 

dsc_2617Polish Pottery sitting on top of the cabinets over fridge #1

 

dsc_2619Another of the wall near the back door and between the living room and kitchen (standing near the big window)

 

dsc_2620A little wider shot from the same place as the above picture

 

dsc_2621Standing at the back door, looking toward the formal dining room (a.k.a. the play room!) and my desk

 

dsc_2622Standing just inside the living room, looking toward the whole kitchen

 

dsc_2623Standing at the laundry room, looking toward the back door

 

dsc_2624Standing near the doorway to the living room, looking toward the play room and powder room

 

dsc_2625Standing about 2 steps to the left of where I was in the previous picture

 

dsc_2626Standing almost in the living room, looking toward the powder room and fish tank.

 

dsc_2627Standing in the playroom, looking toward the back door

 

So, there you have it, Chief! (and friends, of course!)  A little peek into our new kitchen!  I am very pleased with how it has turned out thus far.  I really love the room now.  Just a few more things to take care of and then we can think about the next project!  And you know, this project was very inexpensive.  Who knew you could do so much with a couple of gallons of paint and by rearranging a few things? 😀

 

I hope you enjoyed this virtual tour!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Before and After

  1. kidjuggler says:

    That looks great! Such a welcoming color. Good job!

  2. KC says:

    Love it!! I can’t wait to see it in person.

    Any bookshelves you’re getting rid of? I’ll be happy to take them off your hands–name your price!

  3. Love the green! Polish Pottery I spy? You must be a military wife! hahaha I’m starting to think it’s part of our vows or something!
    Congrats on the redo. Very nice.

  4. snowbabies says:

    I Love it love t love it!!! I can’t tell you how much I love it!!! I esp love the sweet picture hanging near the back door in the kitchen ( wink!)

  5. jess says:

    Oh my goodness, it looks great! The green is a great color, I can’t wait to see it in person.

  6. AmmieJo says:

    I love that color green! It’s amazing how a few little things can change the look of a room and make you love it!

Leave a Reply

