This People Honor Me with Their Lips…

I got an email from Chief this morning.  

 

 

When I saw the news, what strikingly came to mind was Christ quoting Isaiah to the effect of: “This people honor me with their lips but their hearts are far from me.”  [Mark 7:6]

 


Later on I also thought about when Alan Colmes confronted Pat Robertson about why God would let Bill Clinton become president– and Robertson’s response “to get our country back on its knees.”  

 


I believe the next years will surely require much prayer and sacrifice.  I’m also trying to not become too anxious, remembering (like Father Ciszek shows so much in his books) that no matter how bleak the horizon might appear, God is in control and He can bring good out of every situation.  

 

He is exactly right.  God is in control.  He can bring good out of everything.  We must allow it, embrace it and work toward it.

Lord, have mercy!

How many “Christians” voted against Life yesterday?  Let’s not even think about those who are not Christians.  Let’s just look at ourselves.  How many Christians threw away their votes? Didn’t vote against the evil that has come to us?  

Lord, have mercy!

And it occurs to me that it is time to really get serious.  It is time to look inward and root out sin and complacency.  If we want the sin in our nation to end, we must first look at ourselves and our families.  It starts with the most fundamental cells of society.  The (selfless) self and the family.  It is time to live our faith more fully.  We must be a grace-filled people to face the times ahead.  

Lord, have mercy!

After the initial sobbing, I have come to a place where I am reflecting on myself.  Did I do my part?  Yes, but I see now I can do more.  This battle for Life and for life as we know it is not over.  Evil may have won the elections, but victory is Christ’s.  We who belong to Him must continue to wage battle in every way we can.  Starting by looking inward.  You know what they say:

Lord, have mercy!

 

If it isn’t working at home, 
don’t export it!

Lord, have mercy!

So let us continue to pray.

~~~Lord, have mercy!


 

O Mary, conceived without sin,

Pray for us who have recourse to thee!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

