Confidence

 

 

Lk 11:5-13

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Suppose one of you has a friend
to whom he goes at midnight and says,
‘Friend, lend me three loaves of bread,
for a friend of mine has arrived at my house from a journey
and I have nothing to offer him,’
and he says in reply from within,
‘Do not bother me; the door has already been locked
and my children and I are already in bed.
I cannot get up to give you anything.’
I tell you, if he does not get up to give him the loaves
because of their friendship,
he will get up to give him whatever he needs
because of his persistence.

“And I tell you, ask and you will receive;
seek and you will find;
knock and the door will be opened to you.
For everyone who asks, receives;
and the one who seeks, finds;
and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.
What father among you would hand his son a snake
when he asks for a fish?
Or hand him a scorpion when he asks for an egg?
If you then, who are wicked,
know how to give good gifts to your children,
how much more will the Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit
to those who ask him?” 

 

 

 

Whenever this passage from Luke comes about (whether in Mass or in my reading), I have to ask myself,  “Where is your confidence?”  Do I have real and total confidence in the Lord’s perfect provision for me in all things, but particularly in imparting the gift of the Holy Spirit to strengthen, empower, comfort and guide me?  Unfortunately, I don’t always.  Sometimes I fret.  I fret about those adult kids of mine.  I fret about friends who are facing the very real prospect of being laid off in the next several weeks.  I fret about friends who are suffering from their pregnancy losses.  I fret about how we’re doing in school, about my husband’s well-being, about my daughters’ friends… or lack of them.  I fret about our future… where will our need for employment take us?  Will we get to stay in our home, our parish, with our friends?  

 

I can really allow myself to be besieged with worry about all of these things and more.  Or I can remain in Christ’s peace, knowing that He works all things to the good for those that love Him. (Romans 8:28)  I do love him.  So, what do I have to worry about?  Nothing, really.  Nothing at all.  God will provide for every single need we have.  And I really need to be reminded from time to time.

 

Phil 4:6-9

Have no anxiety at all, but in everything,
by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving,
make your requests known to God.
Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding
will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers and sisters,
whatever is true, whatever is honorable,
whatever is just, whatever is pure,
whatever is lovely, whatever is gracious,
if there is any excellence
and if there is anything worthy of praise,
think about these things.

 

 

 

Now that sounds like a good plan!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

