Cherished and Chosen, Graced and Gifted, Rule!

 

            

 

I’ve had a blinding revelation.  If I don’t plan and make time for study, it won’t happen.  I need to study.  I need to dive into the Scriptures.  I need to dive into Church teaching.  I need to dive into my vocation.  I need to make it a priority, plan it, set aside time and make it happen.  I need some study.  I need it to stir up the flames of my faith, my heart and my vocation.  

 

I recently bought a popular, new book, trying to find encouragement, more focused on the home schooling part of my vocation.  It was a good book.   While this book is enjoying great popularity, deservedly so, it was not the kind of book I wanted or needed.  I think I will commit a “bibliophile sacrilege” ~ I’m going to give the book away.  I know that one of the many Catholic homeschooling women I have the privilege to know would probably appreciate it much more than I did.  

 

At the top of my list for self-study are two book and DVD sets by Kimberly Hahn.  These are fresh and updated studies that are very similar to Kimberly Hahn’s “old” women’s study on Proverbs 31.  I own the old set, on cassette, but this new set, being a book and DVD combination, is a great improvement.  I started to go through Chosen and Cherished, the first of the series, last year, but never got far.  After working my way through Chosen and Cherished  I look forward to following up that study with the sequel, Graced and Gifted.  And last, but not least, when finished with those, I’ll be listening to Hahn’s teaching CD’s on  A Mother’s Rule of Life (based on the book by Holly Pierlot.)  

 

 


I am not sure how long it will take me to work through these sets, but I need to be on the lookout for the next study material. I’ve done much of Fr. Corapi, The entire Hahn Adult Ed Series, and Father Emmerich Vogt’s retreats.  I am considering some of the retreat CD’s offered at Casa Maria Convent and Retreat House in Birmingham, Alabama. I am not sure which I’d want to do next, but I know I have to keep myself actively pursuing knowledge and wisdom by deliberate study and I’m on the look out for the next thing.

 

 

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Books, Our Catholic Family Life, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cherished and Chosen, Graced and Gifted, Rule!

  1. KC says:

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of these books. I have the CDs but haven’t had a chance to really listen to them.

  2. becomewhatyouare says:

    I’ll definitely let you know. Honestly, the DVD part is the most appealing part of it all because I find it harder and harder to find time to sit and actually read (the book I read yesterday was such a quick and easy read that it doesn’t count as “reading.” It only took a couple of hours of my time total ~ start to finish.)

    Besides, with DVDs, I can knit while I watch!

  3. teachinmom says:

    Have you read any of Oscar Lukefar’s stuff? His is probably a bit more on the apologetics side, but good nonetheless.

    Peace!

  4. becomewhatyouare says:

    I have. You’re right about it being more “apologetics” oriented and about it being good stuff!

Leave a Reply

