My Favorite Doctor

Today is the Feast of St. Therese of Lisieux, “The Little Flower,” Doctor of the Church.  

 

St. Therese has been my faithful friend and companion for many, many years.  She has inspired me (and millions of others!) with her Little Way.  Her life and her writings truly made me believe that in faithfulness to the little things, the every day, the mundane, the routine, I can pursue holiness and live a small life that glorifies God.  She taught me not to allow my failings to rule me, but to simply place them in the hands of Jesus, beg his forgiveness and like a child, let him carry me.  

 

Today, I will share with you some of my favorite quotes from this most wonderful Saint!

 

We would like never to fall.  What an illusion!  What does it matter, my Jesus, if I fall at every moment?  I come to recognize by it how weak I am and that is gain for me.  You see by it how little I am able to do and You will be more likely to carry me in Your arms.

 

You cannot be half a saint.  You must be a whole saint or no saint at all.

 Photobucket

In my “little way” everything is most ordinary; everything I do must be within the reach of other little souls also.

 

Our Lord does not come down from Heaven everyday to lie in a golden ciborium.  He comes to find another heaven which is infinitely dearer to Him – the heaven of our souls, created in His image, the living temples of the Adorable Trinity.

 

I just act like a child who can’t read; I tell God, quite simply, all that I want to say, and He always understands.

 

When I am incapable of praying, I want to keep telling Him that I love him.  It is not difficult and it keeps the fire burning.

 

If we abandon ourselves, and place our confidence in God, while making every small effort and hoping everything from His mercy, we shall be rewarded as much as the greatest saints.

 

We must not be discouraged by our faults, for children fall frequently.

 Photobucket

We have only to beg pardon and all is repaired by that act of love.  Jesus opens His Heart to us.  He forgets our infidelities and does not want to recall them.  He will do even more:  He will love us even better than before we committed that fault.

 

I soon found that the more one advances, the further off one sees the goal to be.

 

Jesus gives me at every moment what I am able to bear and nothing more, and if the next moment He increases my suffering He also increases my strength.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

