Misc. ~ Just a Basic Update

Chief is on his first leg of the deployment. The good bye was for real.  For the next several days, we’ll have easy phone and internet access to each other, which will be a nice transition into less contact.  

 

With Chief gone, I’m finding a bit more time for knitting. (hey, I always try to look for the hidden blessings… like control of the remote and more knitting time! LOL) I might have my current WiP done within a week or so and then hopefully I’ll be able to move on to a birthday project for GuitarGirl.  Eeek!  I’ve got just under 3 weeks.  

 

We are beginning our 4th week of this school year today and things are still going wonderfully.  We seem to really have hit our groove early and have had to tweak very little.  I suppose that after all these years, I should be saying, “It’s about time!” but I’m too busy enjoying the peaceful flow to say that.

 

I am trying to “plan” a last minute trip to Austin to meet up with a cyber-friend who is staying there temporarily after Ike came through her area.  Her power has come back on sooner than expected, so I’m really going to try to get down there today.  I’m glad they’re getting basic services back online so quickly, but I was sure hoping to convince her to come up further this way and stay here so we could just hang out for a few days.  I’m sure she and her family are ready to assess any damage to their home and get back into their routine, though!

 

Apart from the possibility of a trip, this week will be filled with more Holiday Grand Plan work.  We’re working our way through the house, cleaning, reorganizing, decluttering and dejunking each area of the house, one small section at a time and I am seriously going to sit down and order a few of the things that I’ve already chosen for the kids for gifts.  I also need to put together our annual iPhoto book for the grandparents.  I hope to have it together sooner this year than last so that after I drop in a few photos from Thanksgiving I can send it off to be printed a bit earlier than usual.  

 

This Sunday is the Packers/Cowboys game in Green Bay.  GO, PACKERS!  I cannot wait to see this game.  Hmmm.  I wonder if I can get DirectTV out here in time to get the HD installed?  I want to see every “frozen” blade on The Tundra for this game!  hehe…

 

Well, I think I’ve put off starting my day for long enough….  off to do dishes or laundry or mop or something.  Good times.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

