Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

The clock is ticking.  We’re just days away from another good bye.  Chief has taken care of most of the things he needs to do in preparation for this next deployment.   Dental exam: check. Eye exam: check.  Physical: scheduled.  Spoil the kids: check.  Sort for packing: check.  

 

One thing left that is quite frustrating is an order to 511 Tactical for his “uniforms” (he’s not authorized to wear an actual uniform, so he wears 511’s police uniforms.)  NOT check.  They’ve not even processed the order.  It’s been a week.  A week.  And yes, they said with FedEx ground it would be “7 to 10 business days” so they’ve not technically done anything wrong (yet), but I am quite disappointed.  We wrongly assumed that to be the shipping time, not the order processing time.  They didn’t send an email acknowledging the order or explaining a delay.  No communication whatsoever.  And you can guess that his clothes will arrive AFTER he leaves.  If it hasn’t shipped yet, there is little hope it can possibly arrive before he leaves.  Thumbs-down for 511 Tactical.  A good product can never make up for lousy customer service.  Ever.  Pardon the tangent….  that stuff really does tick me off!  Just tell me what’s going on and what I can expect!

 

Now, if only I could sleep.  Blessed sleep.  I know I’m not sleeping because the deployment is looming overhead.  Knowing the cause doesn’t make my nights any more restful, though.  I’ve thought about going to see my doc for some sleep aids (benadryl just isn’t working for me) but who has that kind of time?  NOT ME!  Ah, well.  I figure that eventually, exhaustion will win and I will sleep.  In the meanwhile, I don’t sleep and I worry and I fret and I think about Chief leaving.

 

I’m really going to miss him.  It will not be easy around here without him, of course, but mostly I will miss his company and his companionship.  I will just be missing him.  Here.  With me.  With us.  I’m very proud of him for doing this again.  Like Chief, I’m willing to do my part and make my sacrifice.  But that’s the key, isn’t it?  If it were easy, it really wouldn’t be a sacrifice, would it?  But I will not complain.  I will acknowledge missing him.  I will acknowledge loneliness.  But I will not complain.  He is a professional.  This is what he does.  This is what we do.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tick-Tock, Tick-Tock

  1. KC says:

    {{{{BIG HUGS}}}}

  2. kidjuggler says:

    God bless you and Chief. We love all of you!

  3. tmoe99us says:

    HUGS! Thinking of you and Chief!

  4. snowbabies says:

    I will pray for the time to pass quickly!!!

Leave a Reply

