Finally Made a Dent!

I made a very small dent in the school stuff yesterday. I unloaded the boxes to look at what I have and have a plan for my oldest daughter (a general plan, not lesson planS.)  There are a few things I want to replace.  Not sure with what, but with something.  5th grade science is one, language arts is another.  The popular text I’ve tried repeatedly to use as a spine made my stomach turn when I looked at it.  I never liked it, but pushed through.  We got the job done with it, but no one was happy here.  I’m just done with it.  Now, this late in the game, I’m off to find another!  Oy!

 

I’ve found a bit of my excitement about the upcoming year.  (I knew it was around here somewhere!) One thing I am excited about is geography.  We’re doing Mapping the World By Heart.  I did this program with my SoldierBoy and CarKiller.  We learned a lot and it was pretty enjoyable.  In the end, we didn’t do a big chalk map in the cul du sac or anything, but we (all) still learned quite a bit and the kids were able to produce amazing maps!  The only problem is… I can’t find the binder!  Argh!  I know it’s here somewhere. I wonder if there is another box of curriculum around here???   I also have to buy some more maps for us to work with.  It’s going to be good.  I like to have at least one subject where I can pull everyone together.  This is it.  The program is recommend for grades 5 – 12.  I’ve got three in that range.  

 

Another thing I’m excited about that will (hopefully) include everyone is St. Francis Nature Club which will be hosted by my friend KC.  KC is planning two 6-week programs for our group (one in fall and one in spring, when the temps are bearable.)  It will be nice to get out for a couple of hours, once a week for those six weeks and start/keep nature journals with our friends.  Thanks, KC, for doing this for us!

Chief is soon off to Georgia for a couple of days.  He has to clear and turn in his gear from his deployment.  That means today is TA-50 cleaning day for Chief. ( And I thought all of that was behind us!)  Today will find me up to my elbows in boxes of books and knee-deep in lesson planning.  At least my excitement for this new adventure is back!  Yes, every year is a new adventure, even after 15 years!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Made a Dent!

  1. KC says:

    Ooh, that geography program sounds interesting. I think I’ll keep that in mind when mine are all in that age range.

  2. becomewhatyouare says:

    I really love it. I found my binder, too! For SOME reason… it was in the garage! (I really need a basement!) I’ll have to let you look at it. It came with a VHS tape (yeah, it’s that old) and if I can find it, I’ll make it available for loan to the local group.

Leave a Reply

