How Much?!

I wish I could remember where I happened upon this frustrating little tidbit…

The price of groceries has gone up an average of 17% over last year.

Yikes! That explains a lot! I spent too much before. I really did. Now it’s insane. I guess that will be one of my “quests” when my husband returns. Lower that food bill! I know I won’t bother much with it right now, but he’s coming home soon, so I’ll get on it then. I looked at couponmom.com and the grocery game, but it’s just not for me. I’ll have to make up my own game, I guess.

We like some good beans and do eat rice, but we like good meats, fresh produce and a few treats… do I have to move to a farm?! Raise my own?! I am NOT a farm girl. Maybe I can be a garden girl, though. Doubt I’ll save that much that way, though, as my water bill and time will cost something. *sigh*

One day, I’ll fess up to how much I’m spending now and was spending a year ago, but I”m not ready for that yet. The food budget has stretched quite a bit over last year, and this is with one and a half fewer adults as last year! (one and a half because my husband is away and my 20 yo eats hear about half as much as before.) I think MY budget has gone up more than 17%. It has gone up with fewer mouths to feed. Sad.

Well those are my thoughts just now. Off to get a haircut!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

