Excused Absence!

Really, my absence is excusable. It really is. Life has a way of grabbing hold of me and not letting go! Time really is not my own, though I often find myself kicking against the goad, trying to make it my own. This rarely has good results!

Since last November, things have seen pretty nonstop and hectic. We took a trip to see Son#1 (and big brother!) for his homecoming from Iraq. Wonderful, wonderful thing to do! I will always treasure that time, and especially that one moment when I first put my arms around him. Shortly after returning home, my husband came home for just over 2 weeks leave from Iraq. He was here for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! About a week after that, Son#1 came home on leave for 30 days! Then it was Christmas and New Year and getting back into the swing of a few things. Back to homeschooling, back to homeschool “things” back to getting on with life in general. Thrown in there we find my youngest, Son#3, was sick several times with a variety of colds, viruses, allergies and infections.

Ordinary times seems to have just begun and now it is nearly over. Lent is fast approaching!As Lent approaches, I am thinking of all the ways I’d like to observe it. I would like to make BIG plans. There are so many things I can give our Lord, so many ways to exercise self-discipline, moderation and sacrifice. It is overwhelming to think of it, really. I have determined only one thing and I suppose if I only do that one thing, it will be good, but it is a thing to do, not a thing to give up. I really believe that giving up, self-denial in a physical, tangible sense is so important, especially during Lent. I guess I’ll just have to pray some more about it.

I love the Stations of the Cross beads now available. There are few choices out there. The EWTN catalog has one that is kind of neat. (though I know I’ve seen it cheaper elsewhere)

Photobucket

I have one that is different than this. I plan to take a picture of it and share it here… but you know how that often goes…..

I am knitting quite a bit these days as I have things that need to be done SOON! Some within a few days, others I have more time with, but must plug along so I can avoid the last minute time crunch. I’m still planning out my Christmas knitting. Don’t want to get caught empty handed again!

Well, there are a whole lot of words (448!) without really saying much. Sorry about that!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

