YIPPEE!!!!!!!!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket


After some delay, our son is back in the states! The night before last was his homecoming ceremony. It was fabulous. I am so much more than thrilled to have him back. It is such a relief. The ceremony was very short and sweet. The commanding General did a perfect job at addressing the soldiers and their loved ones in a brief and heartfelt way. The entire ceremony took 5 or 10 minutes. There was a reporter from the New York Times there and one other “pro” taking pictures (from either the local or post paper… he took quite a few of us. I am going to try to track those pics down.)

DSC_8286


DSC_8300


Once the formation stopped, and I saw our boy (he was right in front!) I found myself taking a big, gasping breath. It was involuntary, I didn’t feel a yawn or sigh coming on. The air just rushed in and I could breathe “again.” It was like I was able to really breathe for the first time in 15 months. Now that it is over and I am looking back on it, I realize how hard it was to have him over there. He’s already talking about another tour and about how he’d like to have an opportunity to do some slightly different work within his field. Gulp. Okay, it’s not today, so I won’t try to deal with it today.

DSC_8312


DSC_8313

DSC_8315

Happy Mom, Happy (tired) Son

We’ve really just been hanging out since he got in. We are all tired and we’ve needed to decompress a bit. I imagine if I need to decompress, our son does even more so. Today we’ll go to the zoo or a museum (depending on the weather) and to the anticipatory Mass and then to dinner. Later, our oldest 2 sons will go and hang out with our soldier’s friends.

The Six most beautiful kids on the planet, ever, for all time:

DSC_8324

One down, one to go!

Soon, my husband will be coming home for just over 2 weeks for R&R. YAY!!!

One more picture…..

DSC_8326

SoldierBoy turned 21 while he was deployed and only got the opportunity to drink during his R&R.  He really enjoyed this beer now that it was over!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Deployment, Military Life, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to YIPPEE!!!!!!!!

  1. snowbabies says:

    I am so happy he is home safe!!

  2. criblife says:

    Welcome Home! You are always in our thoughts and prayers.
    I love the pictures.

  3. KC says:

    Welcome home!!! I’m so happy for you all! Enjoy the time together and we’ll see you when you return.

  4. primarycat says:

    Thanks be to God! So glad he’s home safe!! (((HUGS))) Great pictures.

  5. Please tell your son that we’re proud of him and that WE THANK HIM.

  6. K says:

    Welcome home!!! God bless all of you. Enjoy your time together.

  7. Erin says:

    I rejoice with you in our God’s gracious protection! Welcome home to your son! Let us all not take his work for granted!

  8. Bec says:

    :)Im so glad.. Welcome home!!

Leave a Reply

