Temperament Test

Recently, I took a free temperament test on the 4marks site. It consists of 107 general questions to assess temperament. There are 4 types of temperament (choleric, sanguine, phlegmatic, and melancholic) plus combinations thereof. I went through the test (and signed up for membership to get the full results) and was a bit surprised with the results.

My results show that I have “The Sanguine / Choleric” temperament. I am 66% sanguine, 34% choleric. I thought it was very interesting… until I read about the virtues and vices of my particular”type.” As I read the virtues and strengths, I thought, “well, yeah, sort of,” or “maybe a little.” or “that used to be true (or more true)” or “gee, not quite.” Initially, I thought that either I failed the test or that it failed me. Here is part of the virtues/strengths assessment:

active, affectionate, affable, animated, ardent, carefree, compassionate, cheerful, creative, docile, eager, enthusiastic, entertainer, expressive, generous, fashionable, flexible, forgiving, funny, fun-loving…

I have tendencies to those sorts of things (and the rest of the list) but these things didn’t quite describe me well, either. It was a bit confusing. But just when I was ready to write it off as a bunch a bunk (fun bunk, however,) I started reading the weaknesses and vices! Here is where I became convinced that this was a pretty decent assessment! Many of the negative traits listed are the tendencies of my temperament when left undisciplined. It is true! This was quite eye-opening to me. I had a slow slide into these negative traits through lack of discipline and attention. Here’s part of that list:

distractible, disorganized, emotional, flighty, frivolous, forgetful, inconstancy, lacking depth, scattered, smart-alecky, superficial, undisciplined

The good news is that I have a list of things to bring to the Lord in prayer and to work on ~ vices to get rid of, virtues to strengthen and refine. Just as every vice and weakness on the list isn’t a fit, some of the virtues and strengths do fit. I am encouraged to see the list of “natural” strengths that can be a part of my temperament with a bit of discipline and a lot of prayer. I am armed with information and hope for change for the better. Thanks be to God that I’m not a total loss just yet!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Temperament Test

  1. t f okafor says:

    i am happy to know this site. stayblessed.

Leave a Reply

