O Angel of God

The Feast of our Guardian Angels is today. 29 September was the feast of the Archangels. I didn’t make an entry about that ~ shame on me!

Here is a collection of prayers to our Guardian Angels, including a novena. I hope that you find them useful and that they help you to get to know, love and trust your own Guardian Angel better. He is there to “light and guard, to rule an guide.” While our Angels do protect us from physical harm, they want to protect our souls as well. Ask your Angel for help throughout the day. This is what the Father wills for them to do and they desire nothing but to do God’s will and to see us complete the race and get to heaven.

Guardian Angel
Angel of God, my Guardian dear, to whom His love commits me here, ever this day (or night) be at my side, to light and guard, to rule and guide. Amen.

A Mother’s Prayer to the Guardian Angels of her children
I humbly salute you, O you faithful, heavenly Friends of my children! I give you heartfelt thanks for all the love and goodness you show them. At some future day I shall, with thanks more worthy than I can now give, repay your care for them, and before the whole heavenly court acknowledge their indebtedness to your guidance and protection. Continue to watch over them. Provide for all their needs of body and soul. Pray, likewise, for me, for my husband, and my whole family, that we may all one day rejoice in your blessed company.
Amen

Prayer to Our Holy Guardian Angels
Heavenly Father, Your infinite love for us has chosen a blessed angel in heaven and appointed him our guide during this earthly pilgrimage. Accept our thanks for so great a blessing. Grant that we may experience the assistance of our holy protector in all our necessities. And you, holy, loving angel and guide, watch over us with all the tenderness of your angelic heart. Keep us always on the way that leads to heaven, and cease not to pray for us until we have attained our final destiny, eternal salvation. Then we shall love you for all eternity. We shall praise and glorify you unceasingly for all the good you have done for us while here on earth. Especially be a faithful and watchful protector of our children. Take our place, and supply what may be wanting to us through human frailty, short-sightedness, or sinful neglect. Lighten, O you perfect servants of God, our heavy task. Guide our children, that they may become like unto Jesus, may imitate Him faithfully, and persevere till they attain eternal life.
Amen

Another Prayer to the Guardian Angels
My good Angel, Thou comest from heaven; God has sent thee to take care of me. Oh, shelter me under thy wings. Lighten my path, direct my steps. Do not leave me, stay quite near me and defend me against the spirit of evil. But above all come to my help in the last struggle of my life. Deliver my soul so that with thee it may praise, love and contemplate the goodness of God forever and ever.
Amen

St. Gertrude’s Guardian Angel Prayer
O most holy Angel of God,
appointed by God to my Guardian,
I give thee thanks for all the benefits
which thou hast ever bestowed on me in body and soul.
I praise and glorify thee that thou condescended
to assist me with such patient fidelity,
and to defend me against all the assaults of my enemy.
Blessed be the hour
in which thou were assigned me for my Guardian,
my defender and my patron.
In acknowledgment and return for all thy loving ministries to me,
I offer thee the infinitely precious and noble Heart of Jesus,
and firmly purpose to obey thee henceforward,
and most faithfully to serve my God.

Amen.

Litany of the Holy Angels
LORD, have mercy,
Christ, have mercy
LORD, have mercy
Christ, hear us
Christ, graciously hear us
God the Father, Creator of the Angels. have mercy on us
God the Son, Lord of the Angels
God the Holy Spirit, Life of the Angels
Holy Trinity, delight of all Angels
Holy Mary, pray for us
Queen of Angels,
All you Choirs of blessed spirits,
Holy Seraphim, Angels of Love
Holy Cherubim, Angels of the Word,
Holy Thrones, Angels of Life,
Holy Angels of Adoration,
Holy Dominations,
Holy Powers,
Holy Principalities,
Holy Virtues,
Holy Archangel Michael,pray for us.
Conqueror of Lucifer,
Angel of Faith and humility,
Guardian of the Anointing of the Sick,
Patron of the Dying,
Prince of the heavenly hosts,
Guide of souls to the judgement seat of God.
Holy Archangel Gabriel,
Angel of the Incarnation,
Faithful Messenger of God,
Angel of Hope and of Peace,
Protector of all servants and handmaids of God,
Guardian of Baptism,
Patron of Priests,
Holy Archangel Raphael,
Angel of divine love,
Conqueror of the hellish fiend,
Helper in great distress,
Angel of suffering and of healing,
Patron of physicians, wanderers and travelers,
All holy Archangels,
Angels of service before the throne of God,
Angels of service for mankind,
Holy Guardian Angels,
Helpers in all our needs,
Light in all darkness,
Support in all danger,
Admonishers of our consciences,
Intercessors before the throne of God, pray for us.
Shield of defence against evil spirits,
Our constant companions,
Our safest Guides,
Our truest Friends,
Our wisest Counselors,
Our models of prompt obedience,
Comforters in abandonment,
Mirrors of humility and sincerity,
Angels of our families,
Angels of our priests and pastors,
Angels of our children,
Angels of our home and country,
Angels of Holy Mother the Church,
All you Holy Angels,
During life, assist us
In death, assist us
In heaven, we shall be grateful to you!
Lamb of God, Who take away the sins of the world,spare us, o Lord!
Lamb of God, Who take away the sins of the World, graciously hear us, o Lord!
Lamb of God, Who take away the sins of the World, have mercy on us!
Christ, hear us
Christ, graciously hear us. . .
Lord have mercy. . .
Priest: God has given His Angel charge over you,
Congregation: To guard you in all your ways.
Let us pray: Almighty, eternal God, grant us the help of Your heavenly Hosts that we may be preserved from the terrible assaults of the evil one by the Precious Blood of our Lord Jesus Christ and the intercession of the most Blessed and Immaculate Virgin Mary, so that free from all adversity we may serve you again in peace. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

Prayer When Unable to Assist at Daily Mass
Go, my Angel Guardian dear,
To church for me, —–the Mass to hear.
Go, kneel devoutly at my place
And treasure for me every grace.
At the Offertory time
Please offer me to God Divine.
All I have and all I am,
Present it with the Precious Lamb.
Adore for me the great Oblation.
Pray for all I hold most dear
Be they far or be they near.
Remember too, my own dear dead
For whom Christ’s Precious Blood was shed.
And at Communion bring to me
Christ’s Flesh and Blood, my food to be.
To give me strength and holy grace
A pledge to see Him face to face
And when the Holy Mass is done
Then with His blessing, come back home.

Novena Prayer to One’s Guardian Angel
O HOLY ANGEL, whom God, by the effect of His goodness and His tender regard for my welfare, has charged with the care of my conduct, and who assists me in all my wants and comforts me in all my afflictions, who supports me when I am discouraged and continually obtains for me new favors, I return thee profound thanks, and I earnestly beseech thee, O most amiable protector, to continue thy charitable care and defense of me against the malignant attacks of all my enemies. Keep me away from all occasions of sin. Obtain for me the grace of listening attentively to thy holy inspirations and of faithfully putting them into practice. In particular, I implore thee to obtain for me the favor which I ask for by this novena. [Here mention your petition.] Protect me in all the temptations and trials of this life, but more especially at the hour of my death, and do not leave me until thou hast conducted me into the presence of my Creator in the mansions of everlasting happiness. Amen.

Prayer to All Guardian Angels
O PURE AND HAPPY Spirits whom the Almighty selected to become the Angels
and Guardians of men. I most humbly prostrate myself before thee to thank thee for the charity and zeal with which thou dost execute this commission. Alas, how many pass a long life without ever thanking their invisible friends, to whom they owe a thousand times their preservation!

O charitable Guardians of those Souls for whom Christ died, O flaming Spirits,
who cannot avoid loving those whom Jesus eternally loved, permit me to address
thee on behalf of all those committed to thy care, to implore for each of them a
grateful sense of thine many favors and also the grace to profit by thine charitable
assistance.

O Angels of those happy infants who are as yet “without spot before God,”
I earnestly beseech thee to preserve their innocence.

O Angels of youth, conduct them, exposed to so many dangers, safely to the bosom of God, as Tobias was conducted back to his father.

O Angels of those who employ themselves in the instruction of youth,
animate them with thy zeal and love, teach them to emulate thy purity and
continual view of God, that they may worthily and successfully co-operate
with the invisible Guardians of their young charges.

O Angels of the clergy, of those “who have the eternal Gospel to preach to them
that sit upon the earth,” present their words, their actions and their intentions to
God, and purify them in that fire of love that consumes thee.

O Angels of the missionaries who have left their native land and all who were dear to them in order to preach the Gospel in foreign fields, protect them from the dangers which threaten them, console in their hours of discouragement and solitude, and lead them to those souls who are in danger of dying without Baptism.

O Angels of infidels and pagans, whom the True Faith has never enlightened, intercede for them, that they may open their hearts to the rays of grace, respond to the message delivered by God’s missioners and acknowledge and adore the one true God.

O Angels of all who travel by air, land or water, be their guides and companions, protect them from all dangers of collision, fire, and explosion and lead them safely to their destination.

O Guardian Angels of sinners, charitable guides of those unhappy mortals whose perseverance in sin would embitter even thine unutterable joys, wert thou not established in the peace of God! Oh join me, I ardently beseech thee, in imploring their conversion!

And thou, O Guardian Angels of the sick, I entreat thee especially to help, console and implore the spirits of joy for all those who are deprived of health, which is among God’s most precious gifts to man. Intercede for them, that they may not succumb to despondency or lose by impatience the merits they can gain in carrying with resignation and joy the cross which Christ has laid upon them as a special token of His love.

O Angels of those are at this moment in the agonies of death, strengthen, encourage and defend them against the attacks of their infernal enemy.

O faithful Guides, holy spirits, adorers of the Divinity, Guardian Angels of all creatures, protect us all; teach us to love, to pray, to wage combat on earth, so that one day we may reach Heaven and there be happy for all eternity! Amen.

O Angels of those who are lingering in Purgatory, intercede for them that God
may permit thee to bring them some balm; console them that they may know
that we are praying for them and that we ask thee to join in our entreaties.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Liturgical Year, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

