Our Dear Therese!

Today is the feast of Saint Therese of Lisieux, my favorite heavenly friend after my own children! I love her, her spirituality, her faithfulness ~both in in her life and after her death ~ and I love her Little Way! It makes sanctity something I can truly hope for. I thank the dear Lord for such a friend, teacher, example and Doctor! Here are some of my favorite quotes from St Therese. There are many more, of course, but these are some of my favorites.

We can never have too much confidence in the good God who is so powerful and so merciful. We obtain from him as much as we hope for.

Your arms, my Jesus, are the elevator which will take me up to Heaven. There is no need for me to grow up; on the contrary, I must stay little, and become more and more so.

I have not the courage to force myself to seek beautiful prayers in books; not knowing which to choose I act as children do who cannot read; I say quite simply to the good God what I want to tell Him, and He always understands me.

You know that our Lord does not look at the greatness or difficulty of our action, but at the love with which you do it. What, then, have you to fear?

Do you realize that Jesus us there in the tabernacle expressly for you, for you alone? He burns with the desire to come into your heart.

In times of aridity when I am incapable of praying, of practicing virtue, I seek little opportunities, mere trifles, to give pleasure to Jesus; for instance a smile, a pleasant word when inclined to be silent and to show weariness. If I find no opportunities, I at least tell Him again and again that I love Him; that is not difficult and it keeps alive the fire in my heart. Even though this fire of love might seem extinct I would still throw little straws upon the embers and I am certain it would rekindle.

Love alone have I ever given to the good God; with love He will repay me.

Sometimes, when I’m in such a state of spiritual dryness that I can’t find a single thought in my mind which will bring me close to God, I say an Our Father and a Hail Mary very slowly indeed. How they take me out of myself then; what solid satisfaction they give me then! Much more than if I’d hurried through them a hundred times over.

In Heaven the good God will do all I wish, because I have never done my own will upon earth.

I will spend my Heaven doing good on earth.

How happy I am to see myself imperfect and be in need of God’s mercy.

And my absolute favorite quote from St. Therese:

We would like never to fall. What an illusion! What does it matter, my Jesus, if I fall at every moment? I come to recognize by it how weak I am and that is gain for me. You see by that how little I am able to do and You will be more likely to carry me in your arms.

 

 

St Therese, pray for us!!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Liturgical Year, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

