Road Trip!

I am getting pretty excited about our upcoming road trip to meet our son when he comes back to the States.

The way out to meet him will be a “down to business” trip and we will just drive, drive, drive, but on the way back, I’m open to the possibility of taking a little more time to make some stops to see what there is to see in our great country between here and there. There are also “cyber friends” whom I may get a chance to meet, even if briefly for a meal. That is very exciting. These ladies all have babies about the same age as our youngest and some of them have had (or will soon have) another baby since then.

I had a nice chat with my husband yesterday. We talked about “what’s next” for me. Our baby days may well be over and if they are not quite over yet, they won’t last much longer. Age does that and it is the right way for things to go. I am feeling okay about it all.

My husband and I have decided (as much as you can make a decision that far in advance) that if we don’t have another baby by then, I will begin my midwifery training in January 2009. I won’t start this upcoming year because the boy will be just 2 and my husband will not be in the country yet. To undertake this kind of training, I will definitely need to have his help! Of course, none of this is set in stone and need may require I wait until January 2010, but we have a tentative plan and that is pretty cool. I think I have the heart of a midwife. I love birth and babies and pregnant women. What better way to spend (some of) my time than to give them the care they need and help them get the birth they want?! Birth is such a precious time in a family and I think it would be quite a privilege to take part in that.

This plan, however, will be shelved if we believe it will require too much time from me and have a negative impact on our family. Initially the training would consist of six 2 – 3 day seminars spaced about every other month, while also working with a midwife preceptor. If it isn’t full time, or even a true part time endeavor, we think it is manageable. If it becomes necessary to spend more time than we want to continue, I will withdraw from the course until a later time. I have to complete the “seminars” and work with a midwife to provide prenatal care and attend the births of 50 babies in order to be eligible for the necessary exams to be licensed in my state. I figure that’s less than 2 births a month over the course of 3 years and could be as little as working with a midwife in her office once or twice a week. I do not think that I will neglect my family at that pace, but we shall see how it actually plays out. Once certified, I can work as much or as little as I like. I see myself having a small number of women I attend to and doing some back up in the beginning and building the practice as our baby boy ages. We shall see, though, won’t we?

Anyway, I’m making an Amazon wish list for the books (that they carry) that are considered required reading and maybe a few of the suggested reading books, too. I will be starting some of my study independently (using the required and recommended reading/videos as a starting point) so that I am better prepared for the training when it does come. (*hint* dear… some ideas for my birthday next year!)

Of course, all as the Good Lord wills it!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Road Trip!

  1. teachinmom says:

    I’m tellin ya, I would be one of your first “real” clients! Even if it meant that I would have to get pregnant just for that purpose!!

  2. becomewhatyouare says:

    you are so funny!

  3. Jess says:

    Wow! I had no idea you wanted to do that! How exciting! If I could have a homebirth, I would definately have you as my midwife. I think that you will be a wonderful midwife.

  4. becomewhatyouare says:

    And it would be a total privilege for me!

Leave a Reply

