The “Loveliness” of Complaining Neighbors, The True Beauty of Generous Friends

The first part of this entry is a vent… the second is a shout out of gratitude. Go ahead and skip the vent if you like! 😀

The “Loveliness” of Complaining Neighbors

It is 9:45 p.m. Not 10 minutes ago someone came to our door. It was a neighbor from around the corner. My 13 yo answered the door to her while I was getting he baby to bed. (that is another vent!) She came to our house to complain about our 20 year old son’s driving. This is not the first time.

Now I know he’s 20 and he might do some foolish things while driving, and he does not drive like a 42 yo mother of 6, but really? He’s fairly cautious, most especially in neighborhoods or where children might be. It seems that anyone who drives over 3 mph is driving too fast for her taste. I don’t think he was driving too fast at all. We live in a cul-de-sac. Not much time to gain speed in a 4 cylinder Chevy Prizm before having to slow down to make the left turn onto her street. She lives in the second house from the corner, again, not much time to go all that fast. And, quite frankly, her street is unmarked for speed. In Texas, that means the speed limit is 30 mph by default.

In the past my husband and I have counseled him to drive even more slowly than necessary near her house. But she’s just being ridiculous, I think. I called my son and asked him about it. He said he was only going 15 mph or so, a little faster than he would during the day or if he had noticed her in her drive, but not fast.  (She was at the very end of her driveway with her 4 year old.  Just hanging out.  Yeah, that’s safe.  Glad she’s safety conscious. ermmm.)

I am quite annoyed that this woman came to my door after 9:30 p.m. to complain to me about my adult son! I’m also annoyed that she spoke to my daughter at all about this. She really should have waited. So, tomorrow I will be speaking to her. I will be letting her know about it all…the speed limit, the unlikeliness of his being able to get up to a speed that is concerning or illegal, about her coming to my door late at night and involving my daughter in this at all, on any level. Finally, I will explain to her that he is an adult and she should feel free to speak to him if she has a problem with him, rather than complaining to me. If none of that satisfies her, I will invite her to call the police the next time she has a problem.

*sigh*

The True Beauty of Generous Friends

My friend, KC over at The Cabbage Patch, made a surprise visit to me this evening. She made the most delicious chocolate cakes for me! This is the richest, most delicious, moistest, most perfect cake ever. Seriously, ever. I am a pretty good baker, but I’ve never made anything quite like this! As much as I wanted to keep it to myself, I had to share and we all love it! I managed a picture before it all disappeared.

YUMMY

Thank you, KC, for spoiling me. That was an extremely thoughtful thing to do. I absolutely loved it and I need a recipe! You are a true gem and I’m so grateful to call you friend. {{{hug}}}

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Friends, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “Loveliness” of Complaining Neighbors, The True Beauty of Generous Friends

  1. KC says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the chocolate!!! I thought of you when I made them and thought you would love it. You’re much nicer than I am to have shared. 🙂

  2. becomewhatyouare says:

    I should have mentioned it was still warm!! And I had just steeped a cup of my favorite tea before she arrived. YUM!

Leave a Reply

