The Annual (or is it Perpetual?) “Great Book Shift”

It’s that time again.  Time for the “Great Book Shift”.  It’s time to pack up the books we wont’ be using and pull out the ones we need for another year.  This event is coinciding with a front room change.  The formal dining room in our house has never been a formal dining room for us.  We’ve used it as a bookstore, a school room, a play room, but not for eating.  Now it is going to become a kind of “sitting and knitting” room.

 

I’m pretty overwhelmed with this project.  We’ve already moved TheBoy’s toys out and up to his room (we had a major room shift after TheQueenofHearts moved out.)  TheBoy is now in “the big room” and has plenty of space for all of his toys, 2 beds (for sleepovers, you know!) dressers and bookcases and a good-sized train table.  Now I’m pulling books from the shelves in the newly arrange sitting room.  I’m trying to sort them into piles of ‘put-away’, ‘reshelf’, ‘move upstairs’, and ‘why the heck do we even have this book?’.  OVERWHELMING!  On top of that, a few toys have made their way back into this room (old habits, I think.)

 

This is what I’m facing this morning.

 

Hopefully one day soon I can show you a picture of it all nice and neat. Hopefully.

 

MilkyWhite and TheMadHatter auditioned for The Sound of Music last night.  They both got callbacks.  It was pretty funny to me that while I was sitting in the theater waiting for TheMadHatter to finish the vocals part of the audition, I received a phone call letting me know that MilkyWhite had a callback!  I’ve never learned of a callback before leaving the audition before!  They have to go in tonight.  The ladies at the auditions told me that TheQueenofHearts auditioned Sunday night.  I have no idea of her status.  Last I heard, she wasn’t going to audition because she didn’t think she would have the time for it, but I guess she really wants to do The Sound of Music and will make the time.

 

Last Friday, TheMadHatter got her learner’s permit.  She’s doing very well behind the wheel already!  She handles my Suburban nicely, though like most new drivers, she prefers her dad’s smaller car!

Last week, TheBoy had his long-leg cast removed.  On 1 July he was playing on a trampoline and ended up with a buckle fracture at the top of his tibia.  *sigh*  Poor little guy still isn’t walking right.  He says his heel hurts him.  If it doesn’t work itself out this week, I’m going to have to bring him back to the Orthopedic clinic and figure out what’s going on.  After four weeks with a cast on, the poor boy still can’t go out and run.  :(

I can’t let this entry get published without a little complaint about the heat… IT’S HOT HERE!  All of July was 100° F or more (Average high for a town about an hour from here was 103°F.  It was hotter here.)  I took this picture last week AT 6:15PM!!   (I want to say it was maybe Thursday??  There is no efix data available, so I can’t check.)  The stat experts tell us this is the hottest summer in at least 30 years.

this is the actual temp, NOT the heat index. It's going to be about the same today, they tell us.

 

I’m still working on Christmas knitting, though I learned that one of my gifts is a bust.  The recipient saw me working on it and criticized the color.  Apparently green won’t work.  Teens!  I suppose that one of the other kids wouldn’t mind an extra sweater.

 

Gariníon said, “Grandma”!!!!!  It was just the cutest, sweetest thing!!!!!  She’s such a sweet girl.  I can’t believe she’s almost 15 months old already!  ACK!

 

I am praying for those in the UK who are affected by the riots.  It just seems so unbelieveable.  Mum6, you are especially in my prayers.

 

Well, I think this effort to avoid my work update you all has come to an end.  Maybe it won’t be quite so long next time, eh?

 

p.s.  It’s August… do you know how your NFL team is doing? :)

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Brain Spill, Mom Blog Stew. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Annual (or is it Perpetual?) “Great Book Shift”

  1. Adele Todd says:

    Your room is going to be wonderful for sitting/knitting/parlor (my historicals do that to me). Listen to this: I was sitting upstairs in the church’s chapel last night while the kids had altar server camp in the church proper, and in come ten women and one man for their “Miraculous Medal Novena Group.” Get this: my Grandma on my Dad’s side belonged to their association forever and handed out the medals regularly (their little mags were her bathroom reading material). The lady who runs the group is named Lauretta (my Mom’s Mom) and so I gleefully (cuz there is NO way that was a coincidence) prayed that novena, Divine Mercy Chaplet and the St. Michael Chaplet with them. Then “it” happened! One of the ladies took the four gorgeous roses she had brought, wrapped them up and walked over to me and announced the roses always went home with the “visitor.” St. Therese at work! Do do ya think I need any more signs that these are the novenas to use for my Mom’s cancer??? I left the church giddy like a little kid last night.

    Love you!

  2. Hey! Good to “hear” from you again, Stranger. :) Look at all that knitting! (For the record, I think the green one is lovely.) My Christmas knitting has stalled – I am now calling it the “comatose sweater” because it literally puts me to sleep with its endless St. st rows. So I am knitting more fun but useless lace. Sigh. :)

    We are gearing up for a big room change – moving the kids around so we will have a big kid room and a little kid room. Alas, I don’t relish taking apart bunk beds, so I am putting it off.

    Enjoyed catching up with you. :)

  3. Cathy C. says:

    Still praying for TheBoy to heal quickly. :( The room will come together beautifully. The sweaters and socks look great! Yay for the callbacks!

    Adele, sounds like a pretty good sign. :) I’ll keep your mom and the family in my prayers.

  4. Charity says:

    Yay! Good to hear from you!

    Poor boy! I have heard of so many fractures lately – must be all the summertime fun we have. But his is defintely the biggest I’ve seen this year and I always feel especially bad when it’s the little ones that get hurt. :( Praying for a speedy recovery.

    WOW on all the knitting! Great job being productive! Especially in this heat you guys are in! That is one of my favorite shades of green… I have no idea why she wouldn’t LOVE it. Knowing how fickle teenage girls can be, it’ll “probly be her fave color EVER” by next week. Maybe you can just give it to her anyway. lol. :D

    Take care!

  5. MimiDenise says:

    So wonderful to hear from you!! I am so glad you had work to do so we got an update :-)
    The heat is zapping all of the energy but I keep remembering the colder than usual winter while we are out in the heat trying to fix the busted pipes so we can rent out the mobile home. sigh. Take care and keep in touch!

  6. SuperSoldier says:

    WOO! YOU CAN DO IT MA! I LOVE YA MA! CANT WAIT TO SEE YOU!

  7. Lisa Sweet says:

    Love those sweaters, especially the green one! Good for you.
    Poor Boy! Hope he’s up and running soon.

  8. snowbabies says:

    Oh my goodness, what kind of a friend am I? I have not talked to you in such a while! Oh the poor little guy! Prayers for him immediately! I hate that he has had to go through that!
    LOVE the new shirts for the season! and really love the idea of making that front room sitting and knitting room!! I miss you guys so much! Great Job ladies on the auditions!

  9. mum6kids says:

    The riots are done and the clearing up is under way.
    It has been noted that what’s-his-name Dawkins (the bloke who claims to be an athiest but seems to hate the God he doesn’t believe in) had nothing to say about the young people out rioting and murdering. He did have stuff to say about the Pope coming to Britain and the yougsters (including mine) who went to see him and he’s had stuff to say about WYD in Madrid. Weird man.

    I love that picture of the room you must tackle. How lovely to see someone else’s house is just like mine!!!
    God bless :))

  10. mum6kids says:

    oh H/T go to http://thatresourcesite.blogspot.com/2011/08/50-gift-card-giveaway.html and enter the $50 Amazon prize thing Kalei has going.

  11. Trooppetrie says:

    these are adorable, I would love beautiful sweaters like that

Leave a Reply

