Mom Blog Stew

Today is the 236th birthday of the US Army!  It’s also Flag Day!

God bless America and its Soldiers ~ past, present, and future. Thank you to all of you for all you have ever done or ever will do.

And Happy Birthday to our flag!

Flag Day images

SuperSoldier also informed me that today is the day they say ‘good bye’ to the black beret for “everyone”

and ‘hello, again’ to the patrol cap!  I, for one, am glad for it.

Summer!

The summer is slowly coming along.  The kids are still finishing up school work.  *sigh*  I’ve gotten next year’s lesson plans for MilkyWhite completed and I’ve (barely) started on TheMadHatter’s.

TheMadHatter is really enjoying working for the W family.  She babysits 2 – 3 times a week for them.

MilkyWhite is looking for something to do.  I have offered/suggested things for her, but they are not the “it” she is looking for.  The theater is not having any workshops this summer (only Missoula, which my kids don’t care for) so we’re just not finding “it”.

TheBoy has an 8ft pool on the porch that he is enjoying daily, but that’s about it for him, too.

Chief spent the weekend getting our sprinkler system fixed.  It’s not 100% yet as he needs to replace the actual sprinkler heads, but it is better than nothing.  Poor guy, though.  Weekend of hard work leading into a week of hard work.

Knitting!

Me?  I’m still knitting as often as I can.  I’m working on a sock just now.  (i’m about 25% of the way done with another Christmas sweater, but it’s boring work, so I put it down in favor of the socks for a little while.)

On My iPod!

I downloaded a new book yesterday.  It’s another Youth Fiction title.  So far, so good, though getting introduced to all of the characters is taking quite a while.  I think I’ve only “met” 4 of the 7 main characters so far in about 3 hours of listening (which takes more “actual time” as I have to rewind because of the normal interruptions during the day.)  The title of the book is Curse of the Spider King: The Berinfell Prophecies Series – Book One  This is a series, so if I continue to enjoy it, I will purchase the other books, but what then?  (The reason I mainly choose youth fiction is that there is usually no bad language and most of the time the moral situations are not vile or raunchy.  I just don’t enjoy foul language or “adult” situations.)

Football!!

I’m starting to get a bit giddy again!  We’re halfway through June already!  In just a couple of months, the preseason will start!  w00t!

If I liked ice cream, I’d be all over this stuff!

Well, if I could get it in Texas, anyway!

How are Y’all??

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Mom Blog Stew. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mom Blog Stew

  1. MimiDenise says:

    Today is also my grandmother’s birthday. She died last July at the age of 97. I really miss her! Enjoyed your post! Welcome back!!

  2. snowbabies says:

    We are not finished with school either. My kids would love for me to say we are, the three little girls, are, but not the other two. So many changes for us really set us back. >> The GB ice cream is hilarious! I am sure you’ll figure out a way to get it in your house!!! Love ya!

  3. Carla says:

    Public schools in NY are still in session until the end of the week. Seems to me you are still right on schedule. :D

  4. MamaMidwife says:

    BWYA! Our priest said a homily summarizing marriage and the Holy Father’s phrase “Become What You Are”! I immediately thought of you, which I do often, and wondered how you are doing. :)

    I miss blogging too and miss you and am trying to “re-blog”.

    Glad to see this summer update here!! We have that ice cream EVERYWHERE here. The book looks good. I too stick with the youth fiction because I do not appreciate adult “situations” in my reading. Glad to see some yarn on this page too! And I can’t believe your granddaughter is a year old already!!

    Our oldest daughter got married in June. Makes me feel a little old (but I am not!). She joked with me that it would be funny if we were pregnant at the same time!! Lol!

    I miss you, friend! Much love and prayers!

Leave a Reply

